Longevity logo

Don't Work Out If You Have A Migraine.

You Can Make The Pain Worse

By Carol TownendPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Don't Work Out If You Have A Migraine.
Photo by Anh Nguyen on Unsplash

I have gone on a mission recently. It's not to lose weight, I'm quite happy with that thankyou! However, after having six children; two of which ended in C-sections and one which also landed me with a fractured pelvic bone and in a wheelchair for almost all of my pregnancy, I never got the chance to flatten my mummy tummy which makes me look pregnant in everything!

I need to get my pelvic bone and my tummy muscles stronger first, not just because I want a baby but also to improve my fitness levels.

The issue of wanting to get fit in order to improve my chances can become overwhelming. When I miss a day of fitness, I feel bad. However, this used to happen before I decided to try for another baby too.

There is a lot of pressure to get fit and stay fit. I'm sure that I am not the only person out there who often feels guilty for not working out on days when we are supposed to be doing so.

I decided that last week would be the week that I set two days aside just to get fit.

Every fitness instructor I have come across suggested a routine and sticking with it.

There has been one problem that hasn't made my ability to stick with a routine easy.

Every month, I suffer from some exhausting migraines, and these are worse after I have had a period of illness or a menstrual cycle.

These migraines can last anything from a day up to a few weeks. They can be exhausting and make me sick. Sometimes, even medication can't deal with them. They cause problems with my ability to exercise if they co-incide with my workout routines as they are worse afterwards.

Whatever your reasons for getting fit; remember to take care of any physical illness.

A migraine is classed as physical illness.

I became so frustrated with the guilt that came from breaking my routine thanks to pressure from media and the world of fitness, that I ignored these migraines and made myself ill from them.

Working out with migraine can cause you to triple the pain, and leave you unwell.

Today, I made a pledge with myself.

This means that next time I get a migraine, I will treat myself with kindness and take as much rest as I need.

Working out is meant to be fun, not a chore and it is no fun working out when you are in pain. I learned that looking after ourselves also means looking after ourselves when we are ill.

I am asking every health professional and personal trainer in the world not to guilt-trip a person for taking a few days out of their fitness routine in order to look after physical illness.

We must remember that time to heal ourselves is just as important as staying fit.

I get it is important to get fit if I want a baby at my age, especially if I am going to strengthen my body in order to have a healthy pregnancy and the natural birth I am hoping for. However,

I cannot work out when I am in pain, and nobody should have to work through the pain just to keep their routine going; especially not migraine pain.

We all get ill from time to time, even the fittest people do.

It is important to take time of exercise and recuperate in order to get ourselves back into a healthy state after illness, especially when it comes to exercise.

We can't perform well when we are unwell, and we run the risk of making ourselves more ill when we force exercise at this stage

I ask you all today:

No matter what your fitness goals. Please remember to take good care of your physical health, and rest when unwell.

Do you love reading and writing? Vocal could be the place for you. Find out more by visiting the link below:

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=carol

fitness
1

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.