Longevity logo

Coping With Endometriosis

7 tips for managing your pain

By S. FrazerPublished 3 years ago • 3 min read
1
Image by unknownuserpanama from Pixabay

Endometriosis is a gynecological condition in which tissue similar to that which lines the inside of a woman's uterus grows outside of it. It is common, affecting an estimated two to ten percent of American women of childbearing age. This disorder can be debilitating and often causes extreme pain, conflicts in women's work and social lives, and mental and emotional distress.

Here are seven tips for coping with endometriosis:

1. Find what works for you.

My cramps have steadily worsened over time, and the medication I take has changed. Pamprin never did much for me. Ibuprofen is no longer strong enough. Now, I exclusively take Aleve. Figure out which painkillers work best for you, and make sure you're always stocked up.

Heating pads have been an invaluable resource for me. This is a great product that allows you to discreetly apply heat to your abdomen without being tethered to an electrical outlet or drawing attention to yourself:

I'm ashamed to admit it, but for the worst of my cramps, I curl up in a ball on the shower floor with hot water pelting my abdomen. It's a terrible waste of water, but it does provide some relief when things hit peak awful.

Find what works for you, and make sure that those resources are at your disposal when your symptoms hit.

2. Get ahead of the pain.

Don't wait until you're doubled over in pain to take medication. If you feel your cramps coming on, take your painkillers immediately. And if you know it's a day you typically have bad cramps, take your painkillers before they start.

If possible, try to plan your schedule to accommodate the possibility of being bedridden on your bad days. The first two or three days of my period are always the worst, so I plan my schedule accordingly and prepare to hunker down for a couple of days just in case.

3. Eat and stay hydrated.

Don't take medication on an empty stomach. If you're feeling nauseous, eat something bland like crackers or toast. Drink lots of water.

4. Know your limits.

Unfortunately, sick days for menstrual cramps are still pretty rare in schools and places of employment. Women are expected to simply push through the pain, but it isn't that easy for sufferers of endometriosis.

Don't push yourself too hard. If you're in pain, take the day off, cancel your plans, and put your health first. There's no award for masochism.

5. Breathe.

I genuinely fear my period. The pain I experience is unpredictable; some months are a breeze, while others are incredibly taxing. My cramps can start unexpectedly, and I used to panic when I felt them coming on. I still get scared not knowing how bad it's going to get.

Stay calm. You don't need to be afraid and hyperventilating on top of being in pain. Focus on taking deep breaths and making yourself as comfortable as possible.

6. Remember that it will end.

I've experienced pain so acute I wondered if I could die from it. I've had blinding pain that came and went in minutes, and I've experienced hours of agony. One thing has always remained true: it ends. At some point, the pain does end. That's what I tell myself over and over when I'm crying, stifling screams, curled up in a ball on the shower floor: It will all be over soon.

Try to remember that this pain won't last forever. You've survived every episode so far, and you'll make it through this time, too.

7. Communicate with your OB-GYN.

Endometriosis often goes undiagnosed. In the United Kingdom, there is an average of eight years between women first seeing a doctor about their symptoms and receiving a firm diagnosis. The only definitive way to diagnose this disorder is by performing a laparoscopy. A normal scan, blood test, or internal examination doesn't necessarily mean that you don't have endometriosis.

Demand quality healthcare. This condition can have wide-ranging effects on your long-term health. Women's pain is often brushed off or undermined, and we suffer unnecessarily as a result. Make yourself heard and be honest with your doctor about your symptoms.

Thanks for reading! If you found this story helpful, click the đź–¤. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Check out some of my other stories and Challenge submissions here:

self care
1

About the Creator

S. Frazer

She/her • 29 • Aspiring writer

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.