Longevity logo

Cardiology on Tuesday, Primary, and Lab on Wednesday, and Oncology on Thursday

Children and Grandchildren and a couple of great-grandchildren too on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday!

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
Cardiology on Tuesday, Primary, and Lab on Wednesday, and Oncology on Thursday
Photo by Alexandr Podvalny on Unsplash

A person can get tired just thinking about this week. A friend asked if I wanted to get together this evening for an hour or so and I felt sick at the time. I wanted to go to bed. I didn’t but that is what I had in mind.

Staying home was a good thing. Even though I miss my friend as she spends the winters in Arizona and Mexico.

Friday all rested, and I am ready for my day. Finish laundry, pack, water plants, pick up medication, and travel to visit the kids and grands.

Dinner out and staying with a son with his daughter. Her mom is out of town on a trip with friends. It will be fun. I don’t get to see them that often and when we are invited down to stay, it is important that we go.

So before we went, my prescription was $100. Copay. The good news is it will last five months. How do low-income people afford copays like this as they couldn’t split up the box of 5. Why? My prescriptions for this month are fast approaching 300. The good news is most of them will last three months.

We had dinner at our 49-year-old son’s house. It was chicken and the fixings. We got to the youngest son’s before his 3-year-old went to bed. We were there for storytime. She is so cute! It was four books because Grandma and Grandpa were there and we needed to read too.

We see such good parenting and sadly not everyone. There are those that addiction has them. They had trauma in their life and don’t realize the trauma they bring to their babies.

One is in detox, another in prison, one’s children are grown, and she is not in touch. It is tough some days to visit. Everyone is affected by addiction. Current and past trauma.

I remember my own trauma when someone tells me I just don’t understand. I think about my babies and how I quit at first for them. Even though I was spinning around a man, I just couldn’t stay at the price of my own babies. Our babies.

So today, it is continued work with those I can help. Even though I am only working part-time, I have no doubt that with time and patience, it will come to pass for a lass, that I can be helpful today.

Our weekend was good. We finished Christmas. Our last couple of kids and grandkids didn’t mind that Christmas dinner was at the DQ on Sunday.

That was after one of their dogs ran away and almost got hit by a car twice. And after their car wouldn’t start and they checked out the leak in the bathroom.

Oh, and while I waited, I played chess with a grandson and did my best to avoid three dogs as I am allergic.

We are now trying out the new pillow and pillowcase we received for Christmas along with the throw blanket.

We got very few photos, but our memories still work most of the time. It was fun to see them and spend time with those we could.

It was a great week overall! Especially, spending time with family! Those doctor visits will not happen like that again for 6 months or so now. There will be others as it is the eye doctor and dentist next month. And possibly a chiropractor too.

We are hoping the next visit with the kids will be up north at our place or close, maybe camping or fishing or doing both. My hubby doesn’t like visiting the cities very often and when we get there he can’t wait to get out of there!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

First published by Penny Press in Medium

featureaging
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    I am glad not the only one who feel that way about medical exam and doctor’s visits. They are still beautiful things to be grateful in life. Very relatable 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.