Longevity logo

A Few Minutes With Him And Me

We laugh a lot! Is our conversation funny or is it our age?

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
A Few Minutes With Him And Me
Photo by K. Mitch Hodge on Unsplash

I had this thought today, is our conversation funny or is it getting old that makes our conversation funny? All the foibles of aging? Then it could just be the writer that is looking for a story! What do you think?

I thought I would share a bit of our conversation from yesterday with you today. A short conversation with the hubby and I, or me and him.

****

Me: When I went to the cookie auction, I forgot to comb my hair. Can you believe it?

Him: All he did was look at me, my hair, and laugh.

Me: I wouldn’t laugh at you if you forgot to comb your hair!

Him: Stopped laughing. (He is bald).

****

Me: I thought Perry Mason wasn’t on until 10:30.

Him: Only weeknights.

Me: That sounds familiar.

Him: I tell you that every weekend.

Me & Him: Then we both laugh! He is such a brat!

****

Me: I ask him to listen to what I have written so far from our conversation last night.

Him: This is right at the end of this show I’m watching! That’s what you do every time!

Me: Now you know how it feels! You are always interrupting Hallmark 10 minutes before it’s over!

Him: Eating breakfast, watching tv (I begin to read again). With his mouth full, he is pointing at the clock and spitting, trying to tell me it’s just 2 minutes left of his show.

Me: Serves you right! Laughing out loud!

Him: Payback is a b — —!

Him & Me: Both laughing!

****

Him: fills his pill container and says almost to himself, I forgot Saturday.

Me: How often do you forget every week? I am lucky as I never forget!

Him: He is looking at me like I am crazy and says, I’m not the one who forgets!

Him & Me: We both laugh, me because he just admitted he forgot Saturday and him because he never forgets! Well, seldom!

****

Me: I may change a few words to make it more in my favor as you are making me sound like I have dementia!

Him: Good thing we didn’t get truth and dishonesty to work on today!

Me: The only one that will know is me if I change anything because you won’t remember!

Him: You are the one who won’t remember!

Me: Now what was I saying?

Him & Me: LOL

****

It is the only thing you can do is laugh about getting older! Is there anything else you can do?

The best marriages can laugh together and the healthiest people can laugh at themselves and with others about themselves.

Laughter is good medicine! Google says children laugh way more in a day than adults do. "In fact, a study has shown that children laugh about 300 times a day as compared to adults who laugh 17 times a day. Think about it. If others around you are laughing, you’re absorbing their upbeat vibes."

Imagine the upbeat vibes of the researchers measuring all of that laughter.

So, I get that it is good medicine to hang around with children. I have 25 grandchildren and 10 great-grandchildren. I shouldn't have any trouble finding children to laugh with!

As long as we think we are funny and love laughing together, then we will continue that together. We have a similar sense of humor and it works for both of us.

humor
1

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.