Longevity logo

Beyond the Numbers: A Journey into Blood Pressure Conversations

Mindfulness

By StaringalePublished 6 months ago 4 min read
3

It started out has any other day, I woke bright and early fully rejuvenated. The sky was clear like my mood, a gentle wind was blowing in through the open windows making the temperature inside the house to drop. Padding across the cold tiled floor through the cool crisp hallway, I entered the 'Culinary Sanctuary'.

The kitchen was bathed in a golden glow from the incoming sun rays, the golden glow was being reflected back by the kitchen counters, the various electrical kitchen equipment and the stove. A gentle breeze was causing the branch outside to move with the wind causing a beautiful dance of shadows to happen in the kitchen.

Entering this ethereal heaven I didn't bother switching on the lights the room was already illuminated well. Putting the water in the kettle along with plum tea mix, I set it aside letting it boil. Pulling out the necessary ingredients I went ahead with making chicken croissants for breakfast. Mixing the Ingredients with perfect accuracy till a smooth dough is formed and kneeding it to perfection while the low whistling sound from the kettle added a comforting backdrop. Stuffing and twisting the croissants into shape, I transferred them to a baking tray and let them bake in the oven.

A loud whistle for the kettle told me that the tea was ready, pouring it into a mug and putting it aside after a sip.  The croissants were ready letting it cool on the rack, I plated them. Taking my breakfast to the porch outside, I sat down and enjoyed my breakfast. The buttery texture of the croissant and subtle sweet taste from the tea went together brilliantly, playing a tone of flavors across my taste buds.

Washing the dishes and putting it back, I headed back to get ready. Tying my hair up in a ponytail, and applying a moisturizer, sunscreen and lip balm, I was ready. Grabbing my bag I headed outside locking the door behind me.

Waiting on the bus stop with various other students immersed in their own morning chatter, games and music, I sat silently enjoying the warm morning. The time passed soon and here I was standing in front of the campus. Showing my student-id I entered the campus and headed for the first class on the first floor of building 3.

The lecture went on for an hour and I was sitting here willing the clock to move faster, it wasn't because I didn't like studying, it was because I prefer self-studying especially the theory component just show me the points and I will do the rest myself. The second lecture was short and more of a practical than a lecture, which I actively took part in.

It was followed by a 30-min lunch break and soon I was heading to building 1. The clinical part of the day has started, being in an OPD setting you get much more time than you will get in an ER setting. Taking the vitals and brief history in the presence of the Professor was now normal, this part use to scare back when I was a freshman but now nothing like that.

A few cases went by when I got to this case, a young man of about 15 years old with his grandpa I am presuming came with the complains of fever and pin-pricking sensation in legs respectively. Taking the vitals I reported to the Professor that it was all within the normal parameters, the deep gravely voice of the grandpa stopped me and asked me why I was saying that. Confused I asked for an elaboration, I was replied that I told them that his grandsons b.p was 110/70 mmHg and it was low b.p.

The Professor incharge turned his full attention to me trying to see how I will handle it, I think. Addressing the worried grandpa I told him 120/80 mmHg is considered a normal b.p parameter everywhere if you go into a  depth study you will come to know that you will have a lower bp in a younger age and a bit higher bp in a older age which is considered to be normal because in older age the vessels lose their elasticity becoming harder so in older age 130/90 mmHg is considered perfectly normal similarly 110/70 is considered normal in this age parameter.

The Grandpa was showing confusion on his face telling me he has been through a lot of doctors and they never specified this tidbit but thankful to me for sharing. After that the Professor examined the patients and wrote the prescription and the duo went away. The Professor was pleased in the way I handled the case, saying that you explained it really well in lay-man terms and spoke well with the patient and this is how it should be because most practitioners nowadays stop further questions saying they know the best because it is their profession or explain it in very advanced medical terms.

On the way back from the tiring day I wondered how many people were unaware of this? How many people consider 120/80 mmHg a normal standard bp for all age groups?

healthfeatureadvice
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Doc Sherwood6 months ago

    First and foremost, I agree with your professor, as it sounds to me like you handled the case perfectly. Just in case this sounds like a presumptuous thing for a literature professor to say, I'd better just let you know that one temporary job I've done happens to be supervising med students on the day of their OSCEs, at the university hospital in my hometown! And from what I saw, talking confidently and informatively to the patients is often the last thing the students master. Many of them knew their subject well, but went to pieces in front of members of the public. It's a great thing to be praised for your professional manner, so well done! (Although I do understand, I shouldn't confuse my area of study with yours. Maybe it's better if I don't guest-lecture med students - I'd only make them deliver their diagnoses in the manner of a Shakespearean soliloquy!) I must admit too, I'm intrigued that it was only with this story I learned you're a medical student in the first place. Writing is obviously your "Ingres violin" (meaning "second-string" - the famous painter Ingres was also an accomplished violinist in his spare time)! I do hope you keep up with your writing, even when you're a top consultant, because my own professional opinion is you're very good at it! Lastly, and on a purely practical note, the advice itself is much appreciated too. Men my age have to watch their blood-pressure!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.