Longevity logo

Ambience on YouTube

My New Year's Resolution To Good Sleep

By Leona ValentinePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

It is true that global and personal issues can affect one’s health – physical, mental, and spiritual. Yes, 2020 was a stressful year for many of us. To me, the year was also terrifying as we proceeded to 2021. I did not know what to expect every single day. I had no clue if 2021 was going to be better or worse. Even though I tried to courageously live my life, I had difficulty eliminating the fear within me.

Based on personal experience, I acknowledge that fear can lead to stress. I know that when I am afraid of something – whether it is big or small - I am guilty of catastrophizing. Of course, that would make me feel uneasy. At times, I would feel extremely uneasy. Then, it would be a challenge for me to have a good night’s sleep after that. Unfortunately, stress can do some considerable damage to a person’s health. According to United Brain Association, stress is “the silent killer.” I know that if I could escape and get into my Zen state more often, I am sure that I could be a much happier person.

So, what are some ways for me to relax my mind, body, and spirit so I could sleep good at night?

- Meditation is excellent. The benefits of meditation are highly incredible. Other than sleeping well at night, I have experienced benefits like having better focus, expressing my creativity, managing my emotions, and even having some lucid dreams. There are so many benefits one can achieve when meditating. I strongly believe that everyone should invest some time in meditating – even if it is for as little as five minutes.

- One of my favorite activities is journaling. Well, in the world of law of attraction (or law of assumption), it can also be called scripting. I feel so joyful when I write down my dreams and goals. It relaxes me to visualize these dreams as I write them down. After all, it is an escape from a stressful, undesired reality.

- I enjoy a good book – whether it is fantasy romance, horror, or self-help. I try to invest more time in reading at night. Not only is reading a good stress reliever, but it also gets me ready for a good night’s rest.

There is one thing that I have been trying since last December. It is something that I am willing to stick with for this year – and maybe the next year as well. What I am referring to is watching ambient videos on YouTube right before bedtime.

I received an Element 32” 720p HD LED Roku TV for my birthday in December, and I thought it was a great gift to have in my bedroom. One of the apps that I made sure I added to my Roku TV was YouTube. I was laying on my bed while browsing on YouTube one night, and I came across a video on a channel called Cozy Moments. What kind of channel is Cozy Moments? This amazing channel shows videos of atmospheric ambiences that can put you in a tranquil mood. The video that I came across revealed a beautiful living room. The living room included Christmas decorations, a lovely fireplace, and even a plate of cookies for Santa. The video had instrumental Christmas music playing in the background. As I was watching this video, I had this feeling that I was in this gorgeous, Christmassy living room. I felt relaxed, uplifted, and carefree. In addition to that, I fell asleep smoothly and had a very restful night.

Instrumental Christmas Music with Cracking Fireplace – Cozy Christmas Ambience

That one video led me to watch other ambient videos on YouTube. I took the time to do more exploring. Eventually, I came across other channels like Cozy Moments. Relaxation Ambient Music, Night Dreams, TheSilentWatcher, and Soothing Relaxation are some of the channels I highly recommend if anyone wants to play a good ambient video. They include videos with relaxing environments like different seasons, weather, fireplaces, nature, the ocean, and even outer space. These videos are hours long. Below are just a few I have played during bedtime.

Cozy Christmas Cabin Porch Ambience

Relaxing Spa Ambience with Mountain View

4K HDR Ocean Window – Tropical Sea View

Deep Sleep Music – Ocean Waves

Space Ambient Music

In addition, the potential of having a good dream is there. Sometimes, I would leave a video playing during bedtime. I strongly believe that it can induce an amazing dream while sleeping. Just imagine this. I play a relaxed ambience of the ocean. Then, I have a dream about relaxing on the beach while sipping on a glass of Mai Tai. The weather is so beautiful. The sound of the waves hitting the shores keep me calm and joyful. When the dream is over, I wake up feeling rejuvenated and optimistic.

I am thankful that there are different ways for me to relax my mind, body, and spirit – especially after the challenges that came up in the past few years. There are a few good options for me to choose from. I could meditate for about ten or fifteen minutes. I could do some scripting to manifest my desires. I could read a good self-help book. Or I could even watch a simple, ambient video that can trigger a good, relaxing mood at bedtime. Whether watching an ambient video is a common thing or not, I am confident that many people can benefit from it.

wellness
Like

About the Creator

Leona Valentine

Hi. I have been writing since I was a kid. After college, I published a poem called "Dark Heaven" in a book titled The Colors of Life. I love writing short stories, poems and more. I enjoy parenting, art, meditation, and martial arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.