Longevity logo

A Writer Shares Her Period With the Clouds

Supported by sexy Brooklyn baseball players, like the waves of the ocean

By Karen LichtmanPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

Our centering thought of the day is: "I trust in life because I trust myself." --Deepak Chopra. 21 Day Meditation, Hope in Uncertain Times.

Saturday, April 19, 2020

Daily Highlights:

• I weighed in at 131.4. Mind you, I am seeking to be healthier, not a particular number. And to learn what kind of an effect PMS currently has on my 52 year old body. My period started on April 10 and lasted 6 days. During the past four weeks I have lost six pounds. Not a bad healthier living outcome, no?

• Therapy via phone. Both my therapist and I are pleased with my progress. I found myself spritzing and cleaning the groves of the base of my canopy bed as we spoke. This bed is way too big for my living space and must be replaced. Due time kids, due time.

• I went to Walgreens for supplies: toilet paper, paper towels, vinegar, Gorilla Glue. You know, real quarantine stuff. I grabbed a few treats as well. Hey, did you know that veggie chips and Twizzlers are vegan?! Neither is healthy a food. But VEGAN! Did you know that the significantly more difficult to find chocolate Twizzlers are vegan too?

• I finished watching "Unorthodox," a very different but brilliantly made documentary by Anna Wexler. It moved me and spoke to me. Very well done. I highly recommend it. https://youtu.be/lb_uwSN9L3k

• I continued working on the Other Project. It's good. Very good. I am moved by these characters, who I've never met

Today's Life Page:

Today I run in honor and celebration of my Cousin Yoni, and my actor friend Lloyd. Both of these dear men in my life are battling.

Today was supposed to have been the Coney Island 5K with Pace Runs NYC. I absolutely love this specific race, as well as the race organizers. Love times infinity, like the waves of the ocean.

I have run over 50 5Ks, 10Ks, and half marathons since my first race on October 5, 2013. That day, on the Upper West Side, I truly had no idea what I was doing during the YMCA Fit for All 5K, except for the YMCA dance. Each time Jay had an extended hospital stay, I found that I would pace the floor, a lot. And as he got sicker, the pacing grew into power walking. After he passed, and the initial waves of the grief monster had begun to subside, I got out there and I power walked, a lot. There were many times I would walk from my apartment in Windsor Terrace, Brooklyn to work, my Theater in the East Village. The six miles, crossing the Manhattan Bridge, buying tea Chinatown, passing the hawking matre'des in Little Italy, were wonderful. I would occasionally traverse the Brooklyn Bridge instead. But dodging all those tourists with selfie sticks, who have no idea what the bike lane is for, can be quite challenging.

My first few races, I power walked the entire distance. Then one day, as I was training, my feet just organically just picked up their pace. I think the right song had popped up on my randomized playlist. Then NYCRuns held their Brooklyn Cyclones, Take Your Base 5K on June 29, 2014. We started at the MCU Park baseball stadium, ran the boardwalk to Brighton Beach, and then doubled back. And I ran every step. Having been supported by sexy Brooklyn baseball players cheering us on, didn't suck.

I have been running every race, ever since.

Now here's the thing to know about my speed. I power walk faster than I run. I have seven years of personal data shared with the clouds. Therefore, it is true. I run for total pleasure and love. I don't do speed work, and I have no intentions of getting any faster. If it happens naturally, well then, that is the equivalent of losing six pounds of healthy weight over four weeks.

Data and clouds, kids.

And of all of the race organizers in New York, Pace Runs is the most diverse, welcoming, and fun. The competition during their races is very real, if you want it to be. Or you can just write PTSD across your shirt, and put a kippah on your head, and run their Mi Gente 5K at whatever pace you wish. And be proud of the fact that your people come from Bessarabia, as well as young widowhood.

Comprende, Grief Monster?!

.................................................

AnnaWexler.com

@paceruns_

@brooklynpace5k

@NYCRuns

@brooklyncyclones

athletics
1

About the Creator

Karen Lichtman

Plant based. Runner. Young widow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.