Longevity logo

A shift in Consciousness

How did my Spiritual Awakening come to be?

By Kaylyn PollardPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
A shift in Consciousness
Photo by parinay clickers on Unsplash

Everybody’s spiritual awakening happens organically and it looks and feels different for everybody. 


Urban dictionary defines a spiritual awakening as “a shift in consciousness, an apperception of reality which had been previously unrealized. The culmination of such realizations is in the recognition of oneness with all of existence.”


The short version...


You are the master of your own life. The universe actually wants you to have everything you want and once you realize this, you can become one with the universe and wonderful things happen! 


The term “Spiritual awakening” is really just a term that describes the beginning of your spiritual journey, and it’s a journey that never really ends.


For me, my spiritual awakening was the start of me leading with my heart and not my ego.
The ego is defined as our sense of self, and is influenced by the patterns and behaviors stemmed from childhood trauma, failed relationships, and society. 


For the past three years, I have been doing everything I THOUGHT I needed to do. I moved out at 18 because I thought that was what you needed to do to be seen as an adult and thought living with your parents was a sign of weakness. 
Neither of my parents even finished a semester in college, so there was no real push for me to attend. However, my father always taught me to find the best person in the room and strive to be better than them, and that’s exactly why I wanted to go to college. 


I was great at accounting, it came easy to me and I understood it. The only problem was that I hated going to class and had no motivation to do any of the homework because I had no real interest in Accounting. Honestly, who the heck does?


June 2019 I thought I had a realization. I wanted to quit college and join the Coast Guard. 


If you could only see how hard I am rolling my eyes...


ANYWAYS, a year went by of me doing absolutely nothing except waiting to be cleared medically. Let me repeat. A WHOLE YEAR... and they shot me down. 


Strangely enough, I knew deep down this was going to happen. You can’t spend years doing gymnastics and cheerleading and not come out with the back of an 80 year old!


When my recruiter called me and told me the bad news I was actual relieved. Why did I even want to be in the military? For the money? The 20 years and then retirement? I had a plan that involved me retiring in Greece with a B&B and it would have worked out but I probably wouldn’t have been truly happy for my entire military career.


The week after my recruiter told me it was a no from the military, I went to Panama City with a friend and found this cute Metaphysical shop in the area that offered Reiki Healing sessions. 


I have never in my life even heard of Reiki Healing, but I felt so pulled to do it. I called the owner of the shop because I couldn’t figure out how to make an appointment on her Facebook, and she told me she could fit me in the next day. When I showed up the next day she told me her bookings had been closed for the last couple months to work through some personal things and when I called she couldn’t tell me no even if she wanted to. She was also called to do her Reiki session a totally different way than she had been doing it for my session.


My appointment was supposed to be 60 minutes long but I was there for 3 hours. She told me everything I was going through was simply because I was not leading with my heart. I was taking on trauma that wasn’t mine because I thought I had to.


I felt so validated.


I left, not only with my chakras aligned, but with the feeling of I am exactly where I need to be in life and as long as I keep doing what I want and what I love, everything will be okay. 


My spiritual awakening has only just begun and this blog is my way of putting in the work to grow spiritually, and to learn more about the magic of the world we live in, while also sharing that with others who are on their own spiritual journey. 



spirituality
1

About the Creator

Kaylyn Pollard

Check out my Blog!

www.dash-of-magic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.