Longevity logo

A Precious Gift

Mindfulness

By StaringalePublished 4 months ago 3 min read
2
A Precious Gift
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

The warm ray of sunlight hit my eyelid, causing me to clench my eyes in pain. Peeking open my eyes, I saw my room dusted in a bright, warm, golden glow. This was a scene that usually provided me with great comfort in the morning, but today it was a different story. The rays were hurting my eyes with a biting intensity, and the brightly lit room was not doing anything to ease my condition.

Putting the comforter over my head, I wiped the tears that were pricking at the corner of my eyes. Deciding to stay under the covers for a moment until my eyes stopped hurting, I pondered on what to do next. Slowly, a pale hand stretched out from under the covers, pulling open my bedside drawer. I took out a pair of sunglasses. Quickly putting them on, I pulled the comforter back and the idea worked brilliantly; my eyes were not getting teary or hurting badly.

With that, I stood on shaky legs to head to the lavatory to freshen up. It was as if the entire strength had been sucked out from my legs, and I found walking to be a tedious task. With willpower alone, I was able to wobble back to my bed and go back under the comforter once again.

Back on the bed under the comforters, I planned to go back to sleep, but the chirping melody of the morning birds hit my ears, causing my ears to pound badly with pain. This melodious tune by nature was something I looked forward to every day during my morning ritual, but today I wanted it to be gone.

As if my wish was answered, the tune stopped and everything was silent once again. I felt someone pushing back the comforter and a cold hand pressing gently against my forehead. Opening my watery eyes, I saw who it was: my mom. She was sick too but made an effort to check on her babies. I was touched; truly a mom is a precious gift. She was the one that made those morning birds fly away.

Whispering words of comfort, she placed her very own blend of soothing drink on the side table that was quickly becoming crowded. With that, she left without another word. Trying to see what she was up to, the door opened and she entered once again with a plastic mug filled with water.

Confused, I was about to ask her what she was up to, but didn't get a chance as I saw her dipping a piece of cloth in the water and covering my forehead with it. I felt concerned for her own health, so I told her I will take care of it, and she should go and rest.

I saw her trying to argue but gave in and told me that she would be in her room if I had any problems, then give her a call. Nodding to her, I watched her go, closing the door behind her. Slightly elevated against the pillows, I grabbed the blended concoction and drank it slowly, immediately noticing the relief I felt in my throat. Finishing the drink, I put the empty glass back on the table.

Leaning back and resting against the pillows, I began to think back. "Moms" are such precious, priceless gifts that you can't help but be thankful for. No matter how sick she is, she does all the household work, takes care of her kids, cooks food, and rarely takes care of themselves. So, I think it is our duty to take care of our mom. Do you agree with me?

lifestylehealthadvice
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Doc Sherwood4 months ago

    Sorry to hear you're all still under the weather chez Staringale! Your mother has always sounded wonderful to me, and never more so than here, where even though she's poorly herself she takes such good care of you. I completely agree that a good mother's love is indeed the most precious gift! Your story reminds me of comparable instances in my life, starting with childhood illnesses and accidents, such as once when I broke my arm. I remember my mother staying with me that whole strange day at the hospital, and I'll never forget how thankful I was to have her there. Then, when I came down with chickenpox at age sixteen, she was so supportive! It's a terrible affliction at that age, when you're a vain teenage boy. I was certain my good looks were ruined and my life was over! Then there was a later time I was very ill, but please don't pity me, as it was self-inflicted! The day after a disastrous party with my schoolfriend. I staggered home, ate a huge homemade meal, and slept all afternoon in front of the television! Anyway, hope all this is making you feel better! I was glad to see you writing, despite still being ill, but be careful not to overdo it. Get well soon!

  • I totally agree! Parents are the most selfless beings on earth and we should take care of them!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.