Longevity logo

A POSITIVE LOOK ON A THIRD-GIVEN CHANCE AT LIFE

Lifestyle

By @chainlostsoul Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
A POSITIVE LOOK ON A THIRD-GIVEN CHANCE AT LIFE
Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

Currently, I am a 23-year-old junior at Grossmont College, majoring in Television, Film, and New Media - Emphasis in Production, and I truly believe that I am the ideal candidate for this scholarship because I have suffered dramatically from surviving two car accidents in a short period of time, approximately a year apart from each other. I was able to reflect on how I saw myself before the incidents and afterwards and the profound change I found in myself after the last car accident.

Back in mid-July 2018, I began to show the ultimate scar where my motivation was lost, and I was even more depressed after being in a car accident. Thankfully, after this first accident, I was able to mostly recover within the two months of summer before school started. However, I did not feel the same level of confidence when I started college after summer break. Once I went back to college, I saw very little respect for myself and I saw that it was extremely difficult to regain my confidence again, but a little bit at a time, I saw a decent respect in myself where people had shown empathy for my survival. To me, going to college was a part of the recovery process, which gradually helped me return to my normal self, but I happened to be in a better process during the spring semester once I had gotten comfort from someone special along with a few other people. This exemplifies how I achieved a little more than my previous self, where life is a beautiful place to be when you feel human.

Later, in early September 2019, I was in another car accident. After the first accident and the recovery process, I felt different as if I could not stand being alive, whereas the second car accident was fairly different where I had to slowly gain back my confidence, so I feel like myself again. Specifically, the two different kinds of accidents I have experienced caused severe trauma in me, so my choice was to ultimately take care of myself. Before, I was in fear of death, but now, I am not afraid anymore and it gives me a feeling to appreciate the life that I have been given. After the second accident, my motivation was lost, so I had to drop out for the fall semester of 2019. During my recovery, I was devoted to getting confidence in myself more than ever before and seeking positive influences surrounding my life.

Within the last two years, I have experienced nearly-fatal two auto accidents on the freeway which caused a profound change in the way I see myself. I have gained connections in respecting my life after being saved. I have grown a lot since I’ve been given a third chance at life and I actually pay attention to the circumstances around me. This exemplifies how I saw myself in a way and I soon developed how I needed to live on and pursue my life at a relatively young age. As of now, I am a junior at Grossmont College and I plan on transferring to San Diego State University soon. That is why returning to college was not only a part of my recovery process, which gradually helped me return to my normal self, but I changed more as a person during the school year once I was able to meet someone special along with others who supported me. This shows how I grew more for myself, understanding that life is beautiful.

health
Like

About the Creator

@chainlostsoul

Everything about me and stay in the know!! beacons.ai/chainlostsoul.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.