Longevity logo

A Drug Addict Saved My Life

Part 11: How Old Am I Really?

By Robin Jessie-GreenPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
A Drug Addict Saved My Life
Photo by Jukan Tateisi on Unsplash

Taking the stairs like a toddler limited my ability to hold my pee for more than a minute or two. Hand on railing, lead with left foot, bring up right foot, left foot, right foot. Pause and breathe. Begin again. An accident would revert me back into a full fledged child. So, no tripping and no pee-pee pants on my watch! Because of my limitations, I avoided stairs. You just don't imagine this being your reality when you're barely forty years old.

When I first arrived home, I didn't dare take the stairs to the main floor of my house. Luckily, years before, I converted my basement into a bedroom, full bathroom and large storage room. The backdoor at the end of the laundry room, accesses my driveway. So, I didn't have to worry about taking the long trek up the flight of thirteen stairs for a while. For me, it might as well have been a mile hike.

Once arriving home, my sister Mona bought a mini fridge and I bought a microwave. Although, it wasn’t like I could do much with my cold drinks once I retrieved them from the refrigerator. I was physically incapable of opening a water bottle. Do you know how weak your hands have to be to be unable to twist a plastic cap?! Frustrating. I also developed paper thin skin from the steroids, so when I attempted to crack open the tab on a can of Coke, my skin would split open. I needed help with the littlest things.

With low bone density, also due to the steroids I was placed on, the compression fracture along my spine wasn't the only break I had to be concerned about. I was also at risk for breaking a hip if I fell. That's the elderly lady part I had to worry about too. Living to an old age is a blessing, but there’s something wrong with being old before your time.

The crazy thing is that I'm not new to falling or tripping. I was known for getting a four inch heel stuck in the crack of a sidewalk. Or twisting my ankle while watching where other people were walking instead of minding my own path. I slipped on icy patches. Tripped up stairs. The difference between then and now was that I can no longer afford being clumsy.

Bathroom experiences were challenging. Before I was approved for a home aide, Nina came by on her days off to help me bathe. It wasn't daily, so I was a little ripe. My Dad got me a shower bench for my bathtub. Gayle had a contractor come by to install textured metal grab bars along the shower walls. At this stage, if I fell I really wouldn't have been able to get back up on my own. Heck, if I squatted too low, I needed help getting back up. So, I required special equipment and a babysitter.

My over the toilet commode had handles for me to lower myself without flopping down or tipping over. The last commode I sat on was set too high at rehab. When I leaned forward, I took a nosedive and ended up with a bloody face and a bruised knee.

Once mastering my toilet balancing, I had to relearn proper wiping technique. For the life of me, I don’t know if it was the tremors from the meds or underestimation when it came to the amount of toilet paper versus cover area-- or maybe a bit of both-- I just couldn’t get the job done like I used to. Butt wiping had become one of my biggest challenges. Then, I remembered the spray they used on me in the rehab hospital. I brought a couple of bottles home with me. This perineal solution literally dissolves fecal matter. You simply wipe until clean and there’s no rinsing necessary. You cannot feel like a grown woman with a stank butt.

Every new day is another opportunity to tackle these challenges that prevent me from fully being myself. If the road to recovery is long, I look forward to facing it if it means I’m still here fighting.

Dr. Mayer told me that everyone experiences some chronic rejection after a lung transplant. Sometimes, within months other times within years. It's inevitable. In fact, it's one of the least effective transplants performed. I had to wonder why it's an option?

No, I'm not saying death is preferred. It would just suck to go through everything you go through that leads to a double lung transplant just to stick around long enough to hopefully tie up some loose ends. I want a full life of second chances, not simply a "P.S." at the end of a letter.

The time came for home visits by a Nurse, Physical Therapist and Occupational Therapist. This little old lady needed all the help she could get to make it back to being a strong woman her own age.

health
1

About the Creator

Robin Jessie-Green

Temple University BA and AIU Online MBA Alumna.

Content Contributor for Medium, eHow, Examiner, Experts123, AnswerBag, Medicine-guides.com and various other sites spanning a decade.

Visit my Writing Portfolio to see what else I've written.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.