Longevity logo

5 THINGS TO HELP YOU MEDITATE

Free Meditation Mp3

By Thuy PhamPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like
5 THINGS TO HELP YOU MEDITATE
Photo by Benjamin Child on Unsplash

Hi there! If you're like me, you probably struggle with finding time and motivation to meditate. Meditation is a great way to relax, reduce stress, and improve your mood. But sometimes it can be hard to get started or keep up with a regular practice. That's why I want to share with you 5 things that help me meditate better and more often. Maybe they can help you too!

1. Find a comfortable spot.

This might seem obvious, but it's really important to find a place where you can sit or lie down comfortably, without any distractions or interruptions. You don't need a fancy cushion or a special room, just a quiet and cozy space where you can focus on your breath and your body. For example, I like to meditate on my bed in the morning, or on my couch in the evening. Sometimes I even meditate in my car before I go to work, or in a park when the weather is nice.

2. Set a timer.

One of the biggest challenges of meditation is knowing when to stop. You might feel anxious about how long you should meditate, or worry that you're not doing it right. That's why setting a timer can be helpful. It takes away the pressure of checking the clock or wondering if you're done yet. You can use an app, a watch, or a simple kitchen timer. Just choose a duration that works for you, whether it's 5 minutes or 50 minutes, and let the timer do the rest. I usually set my timer for 10 minutes in the morning and 20 minutes in the evening, but sometimes I adjust it depending on how I feel.

3. Use a guided meditation.

If you're new to meditation or need some guidance, using a guided meditation can be a great option. There are many apps, podcasts, and videos that offer different types of meditations for different purposes and moods. You can find meditations for relaxation, gratitude, compassion, mindfulness, and more. Just pick one that resonates with you and follow along with the voice and the music. Some of my favorite guided meditations are from Headspace, Calm, and Insight Timer.

4. Experiment with different techniques.

Meditation is not a one-size-fits-all practice. There are many ways to meditate, and each one has its own benefits and challenges. Some people prefer to focus on their breath, others like to repeat a mantra, and others like to visualize something positive. You can also try body scan, loving-kindness, or walking meditation. The key is to find what works for you and what makes you feel good. I like to switch between different techniques depending on my mood and what I need. Sometimes I focus on my breath, sometimes I repeat "I am enough", and sometimes I imagine a warm light filling my body.

5. Be gentle with yourself.

Meditation is not a competition or a test. It's not about achieving a certain state or feeling a certain way. It's about being present and aware of your experience in the moment. So don't judge yourself or criticize yourself if your mind wanders or if you feel restless or bored. That's normal and natural. Just gently bring your attention back to your focus and keep going. Remember that every meditation is different and every day is different. The most important thing is that you show up and try.

I hope these tips help you enjoy your meditation practice more and make it a part of your daily routine. Meditation can be a wonderful way to connect with yourself and with the world around you. Let me know in the comments what helps you meditate and what challenges you face. Happy meditating!

CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD THE FREE MEDITATION AUDIO AND GIVE IT A TRY

self caremental healthmeditationhealth
Like

About the Creator

Thuy Pham

If you're looking for fresh insights and thought-provoking topics, then give my posts a read - you might just discover something new! I pride myself on providing those valuable contents that matter to you. Thank you so much for your time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.