Longevity logo

11 Things I've Learned Since the Start of the Pandemic

There's Good and Bad to Everything

By Krissy CrossPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
11 Things I've Learned Since the Start of the Pandemic
Photo by Joshua Rawson-Harris on Unsplash

COVID-19 changed everything and none of us were prepared for it. Seemingly out of the blue there was no more going out, no more visits with family and friends, no more carefree window-shopping, no more weekend drinks - no more normal. Suddenly, everything changed. We had to change our lives. Many of us had to start working from home. Some of us even lost our jobs. Frontline workers had to go to work daily, risking their health. We were yanked from everything we knew to be normal and thrown into a new era of face masks, social distancing, and, complete uncertainty. Yet, as I always like to believe, in the darkness, there is always light. I've learned a lot about myself, (and my thought processes), since the beginning of this pandemic, as well as everything and everyone around me. You see a lot more when everything stops, I suppose. All I know for sure is that I took a lot for granted and when this is all over, (if it ever is), I'll never take those things for granted again.

1. I was Wasting a lot of Money

I think this is a realization that a lot of people have come to since the pandemic started. After about a month in, I vividly remember checking my account and thinking that something must be wrong. How could I have that much money left so far away from the last time I got paid? It can't be. Seriously, I almost called my bank before I paused and thought about it. I hadn't been out. There were no window-shopping-leads-to-impulse purchase moments. (We've all had those.)

I truly started thinking about where all my money used to go and honestly, I'm a bit embarrassed about it. Expensive coffee, clothes I had no reason to buy, shoes I would never wear, the latest food fad, (that I usually always end up hating anyhow), products on sale I really didn't need, and so on. Yikes! I was buying a lot of crap I didn't need. Think about it. After bills and the necessities, have you saved money since this started?

I mean, there's still Amazon, but that's another realization for a different time. Either way, it's important to think about where we are putting our money. Saving is always the best option.

2. We All Touch Our Faces...A Lot

I guess I never really thought about how much I touch my face on any given day, or in any given hour, for that matter. In the beginning, I had to train myself to stop touching my face so much and it was more of a chore than I thought it would be.

3. I was Listening to the Same Old Music

There's nothing wrong with listening to that same song that you love over and over again or listening to every one of your favorite artist's music on replay. My favorites are still and will always be on my playlist. But, after listening to my playlists over and over again, I realized I was neglecting seeking out new music. There are some pretty awesome artists out there who aren't mainstream.

Seek out new music! You will thank yourself for it!

4. Cooking at Home Can Be Fantastic

Sure, takeout is great. It's easy, quick, and simple most of the time. However, there are a lot of benefits to cooking from home. For me, gathering and preparing everything has really helped me ease my anxiety. Plus, it's really rewarding when you're finished.

5. Social Distancing Has Its Perks

Why did people have to tailgate each other in the grocery store? Why was there always that one person who had to be right on your ass in any public place? Respecting the personal space of others' was taken for granted before and I hope we all continue to respect that after this is over. It's really nice.

6. Video Calls Are Pretty Great

Even before the pandemic, there were people I would've loved to keep in contact with. It seemed with the uncertainty of everything, I starting video chatting with a lot of people, even the ones I didn't really see on a normal basis. It's pretty awesome! You can be at your own place, doing your own thing and they can do the same. No worrying about traveling, sleeping arrangements, or anything. It's just a nice face-to-face visit.

I think we take for granted those we get to see all the time and also those who we wish we could see. I, for one, hope video calling continues after this. It's nice to keep in touch!

7. The Air Seems Clearer

It's obvious that since people are traveling less and everything has stopped that pollution has diminished. I'm not sure if I just never really took the time to really look or if it's that, but the sky does look a lot clearer these days.

8. Walks Are Wonderful

Before all this, I really neglected how nice just taking a walk really is. I think a lot of us did. Being outside, in general, is awesome.

9. The New Streaming Rating System

There were a lot of things on streaming services that before, I would have passed by without a second look. Not so much these days. Art is important, (as I've always known as a writer), but, I guess I didn't realize how viewing different type of art is. Normally, I would never watch a drama series or a drama movie but there are some good ones out there. I've been surprised. Trying new series and movies hasn't been a bad thing, (besides the added TV time), and it's opened my eyes to how close-minded I was being about different genres.

10. There are Some Pretty Awesome Board Games

I used to just be a drinking game, maybe some Monopoly type of person. Then, the pandemic happened and my husband and I decided to go all-in on some board games we never would have tried before. Looking at you - Terraforming Mars. (Seriously, a great board game!)

11. Hobbies Are Excellent For Our Mental Health

I've always been a person who has multiple hobbies but I didn't realize how many people don't. Hobbies keep us present. In these times that's important. Get a hobby. Try a new hobby. You'll surprise yourself.

list
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.