Journal logo

Why I Chose To Stay With Vocal

I like reading and writing here!

By Carol TownendPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
7
Why I Chose To Stay With Vocal
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

I almost considered leaving Vocal over Medium for a variety of reasons. I was getting bored with not getting many reads, and winding myself up with what others said about earning on this platform. I write for cash and for free, however, I read and read and read some more on this platform. I realised that I was getting too absorbed in other peoples negativity, but it was at a time when there was too much competition between Vocal and Medium. I will be brutally honest though, and say, that although I like to read and write for free, I still like to make some cash every now and then from my hard work, just like everyone here.

I decided rather than leaving, I was going to take a short break from writing here so I could have a good long think instead. I kept my subscription running while I thought it through.

I have been here many years, and my writing did not take off well straight away. I then thought to myself:

"Wait a minute! I love fiction! I didn't get accused of copying that story (though I proved I never copied it!) I wrote for school out of a book for nothing!"

I then set a goal which was to write more fiction on Vocal, and so far you lovely readers seem to be enjoying it from what I gathered in the vocal creator's lounge on Facebook. Therefore, I am placing myself in the Vocal spotlight, writing more fiction, and yes, I even write sex stories that are not for the faint-hearted but I certainly know the filthy community are reading them, so thank you to you filthy- minded lot!

I don't just write filthy sex stories. I have written beautiful fiction and I have one in horror. I am planning to write more in horror as I go along. I am also in the process of writing a book, which is very different to what I write on Vocal, as my book is about mental health and relationships, it is fiction and non-fiction in one, based on true life experience but featuring fictional characters in a real town but fictional settings.

Writing fiction on Vocal not only unleashes my creativity but enables me to practice writing and I apply this practice to my book.

I write in many different niches, but I enjoy fiction most of all. My fiction gets noticed on here more than on Medium. I do write some fiction and sometimes I import stories from here on to Medium, however, I tend to write about more serious things on there as this is what seems to be read more than anything on Medium.

I decided recently to create a balancing act between Vocal and Medium, despite my last article being a little negative about Vocal. It wasn't meant to be a completely negative article. It was supposed to help people understand what my driving force was towards medium, and let Vocal know where the site could be improved.

In my last article about vocal, I considered Medium to be my top platform. However, I recently asked myself a question.

Was this really fair?

The honest answer is no. Vocal has many positives for me in the sense that my fiction and filthy stories get noticed. I have more scope for that here, and they are becoming the most popular niches that I tend to write in. Medium has good scope for more serious and topical issues but:

I get bored writing serious and topical issues all the time. I prefer to be more creative than that and write fiction.

I do notice that there are some fiction writers on Medium however, it seems to be less read on there.

Fiction is still important, this is why people buy it. It enables people to momentarily escape the real world and live somewhere other than their own just for a little while, and this is the main reason I enjoy creating and reading fiction.

So, will I be staying with Vocal?

The answer is yes I will. I will be balancing my time between Vocal and Medium because the two platforms are slightly different in terms of what content is read. Of course, Medium has flexibilities for fiction and sexual fiction, however, I wouldn't say the scope is wide over there in terms of reads for it.

Vocal is brilliant for writers like me and I share all sorts on here. I love the new subscribe feature, and my reads are jumping up now! I feel confident here, and I would miss the brilliant readers, writers and staff if I were to leave.

I have yet to win a challenge or get another top story. It has been years since I had one!

Come on Vocal, you know I deserve it!

Anyway, you can read some of my fiction right here:

https://vocal.media/fiction/becky-s-dance

https://vocal.media/fiction/bethany-s-song

https://vocal.media/fiction/cherry-tree-high-school

https://vocal.media/fiction/the-green-light-of-control

https://vocal.media/filthy/the-very-first-time

https://vocal.media/horror/lust-the-vampires-story

product review
7

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.