Journal logo

The Love/Hate Relationship I have with Vocal.media

The distractions.

By KJ AartilaPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
14
The Love/Hate Relationship I have with Vocal.media
Photo by Sergey Zolkin on Unsplash

The Love/Hate Relationship I Have with Vocal.media

I love this place dearly, but I don’t think it’s entirely healthy for me anymore. I’m not going to leave, but I need to be honest.

I’ve been a member of the Vocal+ creator platform for almost two-and-a-half years now. I’ve gone through several moments of ups-and-downs in our relationship, when I’ve just wanted to walk away, but, no matter what, it seems I cannot pull myself away. I’ve tried to back off, knowing my attachment is unhealthy, but I keep getting drawn back in. I love the writers, the new features, and the recognition. I love reading stories, and engaging with other creators.

There are too many things I really enjoy about being part of this platform. I won’t list them all here, as many creators have written quite eloquently about such assets, and I would agree whole-heatedly. Namely, for me, I would acknowledge the confidence boost, practice and networking at the top of the list of benefits provided.

You can find more of the ways I have found the platform beneficial in this Top Story article:

The Vocal platform has been good to me. Though, I’ve yet to win a challenge, I have greatly improved my writing skills, such that, with a bit of effort on my part, my Vocal membership pays for itself. Though it’s very far from supplying any sort of financial independence in my life, it does keep me motivated and instills confidence in my own writing ability. It has definitely helped build that daily writing habit, deemed to be so important for achieving success as a writer.

However, I find it detrimental, in some ways, to pursuing my bigger goals.

I spend too much time here, dependent on hearts and accolades for motivation and ego-pumping. It’s supposed to be a tool to help me build; instead, it’s becoming too much my endgame. I find myself writing in a way that’s skewed to the platform and in tangent to my natural voice and desired genres. I get caught up in writing for challenges I’ll never win. Not that winning is everything, but sometimes I feel that it’s just a waste of my time if my heart’s not in it. And I get emotional when I receive no recognition for a piece I’ve worked so hard on, which is ridiculous, because there are a lot of talented writer’s also entering. I know in my head it’s dumb to feel that way, but I do and it’s not good for me.

Obviously, I’m no hugely successful author, nor anything yet. I still have much to learn, and Vocal offers an abundance of ways to build up one’s skillset for writing. Vocal has helped me develop my writing journey in innumerable ways. I have no plans to leave this place. I would like to return to using the many options provided by the Vocal.media platform to enhance my career, my goals, like I started out thinking of it as. I just need to find and practice a better balance. One that supports my long term goals, not something that distracts me from pursuing them.

Again, Vocal.media is a wonderful place for creators to practice furthering their abilities. I’m glad I stumbled upon it, and I would encourage anyone to join! My personal issues are not the fault of the platform, so much as I need to enforce a different mindset upon myself. I suppose that starts with remembering my own long-term goals, setting a plan to get there, and enforcing self-discipline.

And, I want to include Judey Kalchik's article here regarding Tom Bradbury. For one thing, because it's beautiful, but also because it's such a great reminder for us to reconnect with the reasons we became writers in the first place:

*********************************************************************

Thank you for reading! How do you keep yourself focused?

social mediahow tocareerbusinessadvice
14

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨9 months ago

    So so Very relatable. I think many of us feel this way ✨ Great article

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    This is so relatable, especially the part where you discuss writing geared toward the platforms' preference. I definitely found myself doing that, and it was a big reason I decided to take a short hiatus on top of wanting to achieve some bigger goals. I also relate so heavily to your sentiments about the ego and the ways in which vocal comments, hearts, and recognition aid in my addiction! I was spending a little too much time worrying about what to write and how to please people that I was stressing myself out! I think its really healthy to recognize these qualities while also maintaining a love and appreciation for the platform. Great article :)

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Like you, I really enjoy Vocal. I left for a while, and then came back. I don't regret my decision. Don't pressure yourself too much. Enjoy the process!

  • C. Rommial Butler10 months ago

    All of your refreshingly honest concerns could be extended not only to social media in general, but to society. Social media is an extension of society, not independent of it, as many like to believe. Jung pointed out that solitude is necessary to individuation. He did not mean to insinuate that we should be recluses. He was too well known to have been a recluse himself! But when we are constantly engaged with others, when do we get to know ourselves? When do we, as Pindar remarked, and Nietzsche echoed: become what we are? Look at me here, evoking all these names! Am I merely a product of my influences? We all are, up to a point. I've also written copiously about the positive influence my father and mother had. These real-world interactions interface with my literary interaction in such wise as to draw out that which I would become, for I sought at all turns to reject conditioning rather than succumb, and in so doing discover that which I am. You seem to be doing something similar here, even making a public declaration of your intent! I salute you, and hope that my rambling here will offer you courage and consolation! If it doesn't, I apologize ahead of time for being a nuisance! In ceremonial religious systems, oaths are taken to galvanize the aspirant to the goal. Pedagogues and ideologues attempt to commandeer such earnest seekers for their own selfish, bureaucratic needs. How? Well, knowing that the oath will inevitably be broken, they step in where guilt and shame over the failure dwell, and attempt to make it out that the failure was due to the aspirant not being faithful to the system, the bureaucracy, the FACADE. But failure is not only okay, but a necessary step in the path to success! That muscle isn't built in a day, and the pain of failing to keep the oath is only psychosomatic. We should not let the society, the bureaucracy, the system, or any other FACADE that purports to represent GOD tell us where we should stop or go. Whatever "GOD" might be, if anything, it is between our self and our creator, even and perhaps especially if our creator turns out to be our self! For instance, the bodhisattva vows to reincarnate endlessly until all humanity is saved. How great must such a one's pain be when they discover the effort ultimately futile? But how high and deep must their growth have been when they realize that they are not only strong enough to bear the pain, but to go on striving toward their unattainable goal? “If someone rejoices while burning at the stake it is not because he has triumphed over his pain, but rather over not feeling any pain when he expected to. A parable.” -Friedrich Nietzsche Before anyone chides me for my seemingly injudicious account of humanity, let me be clear: there never was a need to be saved, only the need for the belief in such. If we only reached toward attainable goals, we would fail to keep reaching beyond their attainment, at which point we would fail to change, and therefore to grow. Recognizing that there is an unhealthy element to socialization, and thereby seeking to balance your engagement, is a sign of an internal struggle, and also of volition, which is the foundation of all human dignity. For if we do not struggle with our tendencies, we cannot be said to have made a choice, and it may be that in learning to choose, we are preparing ourselves for critical choices we have yet to make. I wish you the best! Many blessings and much love!

  • I write because I enjoy creating and Vocal is a good platform for sharing. There are times when I have thought of leaving for various reasons (mainly me thinking I am being ignored when I am not) . Excellent article and think we all feel like this art times but our friends help us to see our true worth

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Relatable. I do still very much enjoy reading and writing on Vocal. Somedays though, it's distracts from other things I should be doing. I need to find the better balance for myself. Great article.

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    During the ‘emotional turmoil period’ that rippled through some of the Vocal creators in 2021 and 2022, I played back and focused only on Medium. With the changes in communication and interaction between Vocal and its Creators, I’ve swung that pendulum hard back to Vocal. For me, the struggle is maintaining focus on both venues for my work while also participating in the interaction with the writers (which I truly enjoy). I think it’s me- my ties to the dopamine hit I get by refreshing, checking, commenting. I’m in an enjoyable fog of stressful typing and tapping g all the time. So far- so good

  • Lilly Cooper10 months ago

    I can relate. I've found I spend a very big percentage of my writing time either writing for or reading on Vocal. I'm a world class procrasta-scroller though, it's not supprising. Basically, I don't try to focus and just go with the flow. Strangely enough, I get more work done that way.

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Well done. It really feels like you have taken my thoughts and put them into words. I have many of the same thoughts as you.

  • Thank you for sharing this with us. I struggle with many of the same issues.

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    You articulated this so very well and lately I’ve been reconciling these same issues. I realize I’m not the best writer and Vocal has a plethora of talent, it’s hard to stand out. I realize I need more balance and dedicate more time to my real world projects - although I still plan to pop in daily to see what’s going on. Vocal is very much a drug and I’m an addict. But I can admit it now, so that’s half the problem. Also, I think you’re a great writer with loads of talent. Keep that dream going!

  • I know how you feel about wanting accolades and hearts! I feel that! That's why I kind of want to make Vocal just about my passion... Im tired of feeling bad also for not being as engaged as some people think I should be. I do my best, but I have several full time.gigs going on... Anyway, much love to you this was a great read

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Know that feeling so well!!! Loved reading your story!!! It was wonderfully and outstandingly written!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Margaret Brennan10 months ago

    I, too, joined Vocal hoping to earn some money to pay a few bills. Doesn't happen. I have friends who have read and "hearted" my work and yet, their votes are not counted. I contacted Vocal and they assured me that they were indeed counted and I received the pittance allowed for a read. They said the system was fixed. It wasn't and yet, like you, I'm still here and still hoping that one day, I make making something of my writing. Thank you for posting this. I don't feel so alone, now.

  • Holly Pheni10 months ago

    Well said! I really relate to this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.