Journal logo

ART

What It Means To Me

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
8

Introduction

My friend Mariann posted a meme and I thought that has inspired me to write a Vocal Story about what Art means to me. It is eleven o'clock at night when this hit me so I don't know if I will finish it, but I will give it a try. I didn't, so this was completed the following morning.

I am going to combine my opinions with some observations on how I create my Vocal Stories, so my apologies if I bore you, but if you are a creator you might pick up some ideas for this piece.

ALL the RIGHT THINGS

I first thought that Art could be an acronym for All the Right Things. Art is the result of someone's ideas that stimulate others and may even give them pleasure.

I always want my creations to make people feel better for reading them. Vocal expects a lead image so I usually create them in Night Cafe but sometimes I do use a straight photograph.

Sometimes I feel that I want to complain or write a downer piece but always pull away from that. My last anthology sort of proposed by Dharrsheena was dark poetry but with the intention of it not being depressing. I have written before about the difficulties of writing positive prose, this was the piece in which I set out my difficulties.

I follow Jerry Saltz, an intelligent Art critic, and some of his observations are brilliant and make me think I am doing the right ring.

As well as writing I do try to make music and draw with pencils and digital devices but I find this so difficult and always make mistakes, meaning I have to start again.

Here is a piece I produced using a mini studio on my Kindle. It is amazing what you can do in your room these days.

If I find any of my digital art I will include it here, but here is some of my #TabletArt that I make with my medications and share on Instagram

#TabletArt

T Andries Art

Yesterday I was speaking with a creator T Andries at the John Marley Centre about his amazing black and white creations which Fiona had asked me if they could be coloured.

Lioness by T Andries

Art can be seen everywhere every day. You see it in advertisement boards, book and record covers as well as stand-alone art installations that can be seen in public as well as galleries.

We hang art on our walls because we love to see things that can take us somewhere else, even if it is just for a few seconds.

I wrote a piece on album art and picture discs which can be fascinating to examine as you listen to the music that is contained within.

But Back To Writing

Writing is my main creative outlet, possibly because if I make a mistake it can be quickly and easily rectified.

Also, you can take advice from others to improve whatever you have written. In the case of music and permanent art, to apply the advice you would have to recreate the piece whereas with writing you can change the existing thing that you have created.

Writing is Art, Painting is Art, Theatre is Art, and everything is Art if the creator says that it is Art.

A letter to a friend or an unmade bed can be art.

Concluding My Artful Observations.

Art is something that has an effect. It does not have to be practical or useful but it should cause an effect. Art should not be easily ignored. If it is ignored it has failed but is still Art.

I think a lot of my "Art" is ignored, but the reality is that on Vocal I have had over twenty-seven thousand reads, my Seven Days In blog has had over eight hundred thousand page views, and my Youtube Channel has almost two hundred thousand views (though half of them are from a single video) so I am anything but ignored.

I hope you have found this ramble stimulating.

The music I included is "Art Decade" by David Bowie, which I also hear as "Art Decayed".

social mediapop culturefeatureartadvice
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I really loved the music! Also, I always enjoy reading your thoughts ❤️

  • I really enjoyed the Craftwork ❤️

  • The music you composed was so soothing! I'm the kinda person that cannot read when there's music playing. But yours wasn't overpowering and I was able to read this with your music playing in the background. You're right, anything can be art. It all depends on perception. I enjoyed reading this!

  • Interesting meanderings & I agree with it all.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Beautiful. I enjoy your picture art video. Perfect music pick for the video is an art in itself. 🥰💐

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.