Interview logo

My Interview With The Lovely Cindy Hession Richard

Mariann Carroll ‘s 8th Interview on Vocal

By Mariann CarrollPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
19
C.H. Richard’s Anniversary Trip to Vermont Photo

Did you know Cindy Hession-Richard was a runner up in the Night Owl Challenge? Here are words from Cindy on how she was inspired to write the story. “In all honesty it was mixed bag of emotions. The story is based on a true crime that happened in 1865 in a park, that was literally was in my backyard growing up. A family friend always told us that the park had this horrible history and was supposedly haunted. I did not know the details of the story until I came across the story while researching for something else. I literally cried for this mother. I then became obsessed with reading old newspaper clippings and more details. My husband was a little concerned. I just felt a strong connection to this poor mother yet all I could find about her was she was distraught and depressed. My heart just hurt for her. I didn't know what I would do with the information. When the challenge was announced I saw it as an opportunity to express her grief but wanted to make sure it was with dignity. It was nice to be recognized with that win but I still felt I had to turn into something else. I donated the winnings to a program called Home that helps children in foster care in Boston. It was actually established in 1865 as orphanage at that time. ❤️”

Mariann (New York): Hi Cindy, would you let me interview you for my Vocal blog ?

Cindy: (New England): Yes of course, I would be honored. Would it be okay to wait until Monday or Tuesday night?

Mariann:Where are you from?

Cindy: Sorry, I just had to start a load of laundry. 😊 I was born in Boston, Massachusetts. I am still living in the New England area. Many of my stories will have a New England setting.

Mariann: What word best describe you?

Cindy: A word that best describes me would "multi tasker" which is not always a good thing but it is how I get through my day. Nine things at once. That is why I love writing as I do try to take time when actually writing a story to really be focused on it.

Mariann: What are your accomplishments on vocal?

Cindy: On Vocal I have 11 top stories and I placed as a runner up in The Return Of The Night Owl Challenge last year.

Mariann: How long does it take you to write a story? What do you like to write? What is your latest writing project ?

Cindy: Fiction is my preference to write. I'll be writing the story for about a week in my head from start to finish. When I actually sit down and write it , it is sometimes just before the deadline because of my busy schedule. I'm trying not to do that as I do need time to edit, but sometimes still happens.

Poetry is newer to me and I'm amazed at so many of the beautiful poets on Vocal. If I am writing a serious poem it takes longer to get where I am going. For fun kind of light hearted poems I write typically during boring trainings for work, still listening of course 😊 but it takes only an hour or two. My Epistolary entry To The Me Who Bought Celery took me an hour last Friday while I was listening to a doctor speak. 😊

Mariann: What’s your favorite Color?

Cindy: Favorite colors are ocean colors pretty much all shades of blue and green 💙 😊💚

Mariann: What was the first story you wrote ? What was the story about?

Cindy: My first story was The Drive Up North which I entered into The Little Black Book Challenge in 2021 when I joined Vocal. The Drive Up North was about 3 teenagers, who get lost and then in end up in a car accident during a winter storm. My dad actually read The Drive Up North. He passed in 2021

Mariann: What are your most proud of accomplishment ?

Cindy: My answer for most proud of might sound a little simplistic , but every time I hit the submit button after creating a story is both a moment of fear and accomplishment. In my "real life" I work as a social worker for a non-profit. It is a job I love but is very taxing and tiring. I'm married with a house, dog and bills to pay like everyone else. I was a fulltime caregiver to both my parents before and now care for additional family members. There wasn't or hasn't been time for my dream of becoming a writer. When I found Vocal I felt like I had a chance to carve out a plan of getting there. So when I hit submit when creating a story, I feel a sense of accomplishment.

Mariann: Who are your favorite Vocal Creators ?

Cindy : I have so many favorite writers on Vocal I would take up the whole article. Just a huge amount of talent. One writer I love for her constant inspirational messages and slam poetry is Tiffany Gordon. Could we include one of her poems?

Mariann: Sure, why not?

Cindy :Here is a poem of Tiffany's where she talks about battling an autoimmune disease. I also have an autoimmune disease and it is poem I come back to when having a really difficult day with it.

Mariann: What Facebook group you belong too?

Cindy: I belong to many Vocal Facebook groups but these are the four I am most active in and follow regularly; Vocal Social Society, Great Incantations (for challenge pieces only), Vocal + Assist, and The Medium and Vocal Support Group.

It was a pleasure to interview, Cindy . I hope you enjoyed this interview and her beautiful stories on Vocal .

Authors
19

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Misty Raeabout a year ago

    Very nice interview, Mariann and of a wonderful creator too 😁

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Cindy, you are such a wonderful creator and supporter. I love your writing and felt such a connection to that mother as well when I read your story. You did an amazing job with it. I always look forward to reading your works. And I feel you with the multi-tasking!! Great interview from you both!!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Great interview, I love reading these! Cindy is one of my favorite writers, every story of hers is just so good. She is a supportive reader too - it’s awesome that she included one of Tiffany’s poems! You are all Rock Stars!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Great interview! I love Cindy’s writing and it is moving to know the context of her world. Imagine, if she had more free time to write, whoa!!! What she humbly didn’t mention was how tremendously supportive she is of reading, commenting, and encouraging others writers.🥰

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Thank you for yet another great job on this interview. 😊💕

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Mariann Take a bow! You've done such a fantastic job on these interviews! I'm so glad that you are getting your shine! Cindy what a magnificent writer & soul you are! Just all around impressive! Thx 4 the Shoutout as well! I am eternally grateful!

  • Heyyyy, Cindy! The Children of the Dressmaker is a story that would always be close to my heart. How you felt for her, that was how I felt when I discovered Louis Wain and just had to write his story. So I totally understand. I'm also so happy you placed in that challenge. But what I didn't know was that you donated your winnings to Home. That's so selfless and kind of you 🥰🥰🥰 I'm so glad your Dad read The Drive Up North because that is an amazing story. I really loved Gina and her connection with the older lady, sorry I forgot her name. And whoaaaa, you really are a multitasker! I can't even read something if there's some music playing in the background, lol! I too write stories in my head from start to end before typing it out. I'm so happy I'm not alone in this! Thank you so much Mariann for this wonderful interview! I enjoyed learning more about Cindy!

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    I was very happy to see Cindy's name come up here. She's one of my personal favorites and a solid supporter of others. Great job, Marriann.

  • Great to get to know Cindy a little more, thank you for this

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    I loved reading about your runner up story and your emotions and crying about the mother. Very raw honesty. ❤️ Well done! Excellent interview

  • Thank for giving us this opportunity to get to know Cindy. Another fun interview.

  • Awesome getting to know Cindy 😉✨💖Great interview❗

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Thank you so much Mariann ❤️ You did great and really have a knack for this. ❤️

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Love Cindy's stories too!!! Fabulous interview Mariann!!!💖💖💕

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    Yay! I live Cindy’s writing: always fresh and new!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.