Poets logo

A Contender Lurking In The Shadows...

Slam Poetry

By Tiffany Gordon Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
29
A Contender Lurking In The Shadows...
Photo by doorkeepers on Unsplash

Each daily task, an uphill battle…

Feelin' like I'm on a bumpy road & an unruly horse without a saddle…

Will I have the energy to get in the bath, cook, or clean today?...

It's really a crap shoot, it could go either way…

But no one really cares because I look fine…

Plus many folks don't care because they're empathy-blind…

I'm weary from the battle…

But I'm still a contender lurking in the shadows…

I guess I'll just take one step at a time…

And then the stairs to my dreams will be easier to climb…

Fortunately, this story ends well because I have faith…

But darn it I had to be brutally honest about the weight…

**Shootout to my fellow Chronic Fatigue Warriors! I sympathize with you; your story matters! Enjoy a little Survivor on me! lol We've got this!😉

slam poetry
29

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)12 months ago

    Beautiful piece 😉❤️💯💬

  • C. H. Richard12 months ago

    Still one of my favorite poems on Vocal. I can't believe I hadn't commented previously as I have read many times before. I have another auto immune disease but can so relate. ♥️

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Relatable poem, nice choice of song 🎶❤️🦋

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Nailed it!!!💖💕

  • C.Z.2 years ago

    Very relatable, good job.

  • Whoaaaa this is awesome!

  • Lena Folkert2 years ago

    Just. Like. Every Word!! 🥰🥰😩😩😭😭❤️❤️

  • Love the Survivor song. It fits well with your poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.