Humor logo

Yeah Nah!

Big adventures in a big land

By Phil FlanneryPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2023
24

Firstly, to explain the title. If you’re Australian you’ll get it and if not, there is a chance you know it because you know an Aussie, or it is just there tickling the back of your mind and you’re not sure why.

As Aussie colloquialisms go, I don’t think ‘Yeah Nah’ is very old. I’m guessing it started in the 80’s or 90’s, maybe early 2000’s but it has really become part of our language now. There are T-shirts and bumper stickers and there is a road safety ad that uses it to highlight risky driving habits. It usually gets brought out when someone is about to do something stupid. “Hey fellas, do ya reckon I could make the pool, if I jumped from the roof?” Yeah Nah would be the appropriate response. It’s a win win as far as the spectators go.

Second, apparently there are 600 ‘big things’ around Australia, like the Big Banana in Coffs Harbour NSW (shown above), or the Big Pineapple in Queensland. I found a travel website that lists them, most with photos, and while there are some massive structures that you can enter, others are quite disappointing, so it is less important which giant things are found, more about how weird or even relevant they are to the region they represent.

The pitch:

The show is centred around two young Aussie blokes, Tommo and Dylan, with big plans and no clue. They’ve just finished high school and are taking some time to travel, before they go off to become adults, whatever that is.

I think one of the boys should have Aboriginal heritage as this would bring more depth to the stories as they travel.

What could go wrong! They have their 'Responsible Service of Alcohol' certificates, they’ve done a barista course, savings from their shifts at McDonalds and some cash their jealous dads tossed them, a beat-up 1997 Mitsubishi Express van, (one of the most reliable cars I’ve ever owned), and a naïve belief that everything will be so easy. It’s not like they have to learn another language.

It begins in Tasmania, where the two young larrikins are from. They start travelling around Australia, aiming for as many giant icons in the various states and territories, and there are 600 around Australia.

In their travels they have to find work to pay their way, and when they find a ‘giant thing’, they dare each other to complete a task. A win is a ‘Yeah’, a loss is a ‘Nah’, with a record kept on the back door of the van.

While this is an important premise to the show and every effort should be made to do a ‘Yeah Nah’ dare each episode, I believe the interaction between the people they encounter will be what ultimately makes it interesting. We Aussies are funny bastards.

Being young Aussies, they are easily tempted by anything fun, and daily hangovers or walks of shame are the norm. There is a lot of work in regional Australia for backpackers and the like and just finding jobs and meeting new characters could make up a lot of the storylines. There will be love and loss, new friends and the odd tense moment that they talk themselves out of; after all, they are lovers not fighters.

The first episode would have to start in the driveway of one of their homes, two mothers crying over losing their baby boys to a crocodile in Far North Queensland, two dads betting that the van won’t make it to the mainland.

Of course, through the passage of the farewell conversation, the basic plot will be divulged to the viewer. In their hometown of Penguin, is the big penguin and in Devonport, where the Spirit of Tasmania will help them escape their island state, is a big bike. These would be obvious choices for a montage to start the journey.

The great thing about this as a road trip comedy series is that it would be an easy sell for tourism, as the various government tourism bodies would be excited to be part of something that promotes their regions, and as the vast majority of these things are in regional or country areas, it would showcase the natural beauty of our magnificent land and give an insight into country living Aussie style.

Think Home and Away, but funny.

Finally, as a multiculturally diverse country, there will be a great variance in the characters they meet, whether it be local indigenous people or those with family origins from other countries, these regional areas have their own unique character because of the different people who live there and what their heritage brings.

WitSatireFamily
24

About the Creator

Phil Flannery

Damn it, I'm 61 now, which means I'm into my fourth year on Vocal, I have an interesting collection of stories. I love the Challenges and enter, when I can, but this has become a lovely hobby.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Scott Christenson10 months ago

    Sounds like a fun series. I like the idea that they are on a mission, sort of as backpackers who need to find jobs.. (sort of like Poker Face in a way?) sets you up for a new adventure every episode. And the tourism angle business angle ti good too, the australian government pours a lot of money into entertainment that promotes tourism. I spent 6 months in sydney last year, partly spent watching australian tv whic was completely new to me. Rosehaven and Utopia...and the weekly with Charlie Piickering were my favorites (and seem completely unknown in America as far as i know)

  • Chris Whitmire10 months ago

    Such a cool idea! I would love to read a book based on the same premise. I can imagine it having tones similar to Catcher in the Rye since it could be a coming of age story. But I think there could be some interesting ideas that could be explored with the relationship of the two guys as they travel and meet new people. Anyways, great idea! It was fun to read and think about!

  • Michael Darvall10 months ago

    Yeah nah… just nails it. I don’t think you even need the excuse if yeah for success etc, I think just as an iconic Aussie phrase it’s almost self sufficient. Love the idea.

  • Joe Luca10 months ago

    Not from Australia, didn't get it, but still thought the pitch was funny. Good concept! 😁👍

  • Test10 months ago

    As a fellow Aussie, I saw the title and knew I was going to love this. This sounds like a real series, and one that should be made! Love it!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    I'd watch it! Great job, and congratulations on Top Story!

  • Naveedkk 10 months ago

    Congratulations on achieving top story status!

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    So glad this got Top Story! Congrats, Phil!

  • Caroline Craven10 months ago

    I love this so much! Definitely remember the Big Banana in Coffs Harbour when I was backpacking round Australia! Still my favourite country ever! I hope this series gets commissioned- it would be on my playlist for sure! Great stuff!

  • Awesome 😎 Congratulations 🎉

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    That's a great pitch. Sounds hilarious. Congrats on the TS

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Love travel and road trips!!! Fun and funnier family show. Great pitch!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    Oh, how I love this! Pitch it to a network please

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Oh yeah, I need this show to be a thing!!

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    This really is a good one. I though Tasmania was in Africa 🤣🤔. I hope they meet a few Tasmania devils. You and Grz below should write a screenplay about it for real. One of the best ones so far in the challenge, besides my ghost story that is. Hahahahahah.

  • Lol, I love these kinda dare based shows! I would totally watch this!

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    “It begin in Tasmania!” And their “responsible serving of alcohol certificates” made me laugh. 😆 Some fun & funny ideas here!

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    Well, there you go. This is the first one in this challenge that really appeals to me. I love the title and the premise. Years ago I travelled from Canada to Sydney for work for a week. I met some good drinking buddies while I was there. I could not agree more with your statement, "Aussies are funny bastards."

  • Lilly Cooper11 months ago

    Yeah, Nah sounds like a bloody rippa! Fair dinkum mate! Coupla mates goin walk a bout, nothin more true blue than that! Oh my gosh, auto correct did not like my occa there! I had to keep telling it not to correct my language!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Can actually see this as a real show. Sounds made for tv! Well done on this, Phil! Awesome work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.