Humor logo

The time I almost got cousin in trouble

Well...almost outed him

By Janay EaleyPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
2

My grandmother, Vera, is the only baby boomer that I know who likes technology. Since I was a little girl, she liked to spend money on gadgets and devices like phones and computers.

She has every phone brand such as Android, Samsung, and iPhones. About three years ago, she had some trouble with one of her phones which was an iPhone.

I never had one because my mother would never pay that amount of money for those phones.

She never cared for them, so I usually had an Android or a Samsung. The case was black, and the size was small. She was trying to send a couple of photos from a family get-together last weekend through a group chat, but it kept sending her a message about her gallery not having any memory. While I was sitting on the couch, there was so much junk in the gallery.

I deleted what I could, but the message still popped up. I went down further, and I was just...flabbergasted. There were pictures and videos of inappropriate content like oral sex, naked women, and couples in a doggy-style position. There were other photos of my cousin when he was either 13 or 14 doing something strange with his friends.

I will not say what it was because I could not even comprehend what I was seeing with my own eyes. I knew my grandmother used to let him use this phone, and she had no idea that he was the reason she could not send anything.

Before I went back to her, I ran to my mother, showing her the shocking gallery. Her jaw dropped, scrolling through everything that I saw not too long.

“I am about to show his mother,” I said, anticipating knowing what her reaction would be.

“Oh, hell no! Do not show your aunt Katina,”she said.

“Take it back to your grandmother!”

I walked back to her house, heading toward her back door because it is usually open for her dog, Chopper, whenever it is time for him to go outside. She was inside the kitchen, so I pulled her to the side like I had gossip.

“I think you should look through your gallery,”I told her, looking worried.

“Why? What is wrong with you girl? ”

“Just...take a look.”

As she was swiping through the gallery, she had this smile. It was a smile that was holding back anger, but it reminded me of the Grinch’s smile like how it become wider and wider. She was taking these hard breaths like a bull. She was clicking the delete button in this robotic pattern and I was trying hard not to laugh.

It was awkward for me because I was still a minor and she was an elder exposed to this kind of content in a phone that used to belong to her grandson.

“I am going to beat his ass but thank you for helping me,” she said.

“Now I know why...”

“Your welcome.”

I was surprised but at the same time, not really because I think the contents of a cellphone from any boy and men is worse than a woman. They like to watch things and make questionable searches that is wild but those are the type of thoughts that circulate their minds so what can you do?

Boys will be boys.

I saved my cousin from the wrath of my aunt Katina because we did not know what her reaction could have been.

Today, I am unaware of his sexuality, but I remember my aunt Eveyln fussing over her letting him wear two earrings in his senior pictures.

During his middle school years, he was going through a phase of curiosity, but he could have at least deleted them before he gave it back to Grandma unless he did not care.

Hilarious
2

About the Creator

Janay Ealey

Greetings, my fellow readers!

Writer.

Social Media Manager.

Student.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.