Blush logo

The lessons my mother taught me

about beauticians

By Janay EaleyPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
1

My mother has a love and hate relationship with beauticians because she has quite experience with them, so she has learned some things.

Here are four lessons that my mother taught me about women who are in cosmetology:

Lesson #1: They know how to boost a woman’s confidence

Women like to do things that make them feel sensual, desirable, and poise. They like to drive down to nail shop, deciding whether they would get a manicure or a pedicure and picking out what color they want. They like to go shopping, searching for the perfect top, the perfect shoes, and the perfect handbag.

My mother loves to get her hair done whether it is braids, locs, or weaves. If she thinks the style is perfect, then she will get it because it makes her feel better about herself.

Lesson #2: Once their careers become exceedingly high; so, does their heads

My mother thinks that beauticians need to cut out the superstar mentality because being humble is cooler than being famous. You started from the bottom, which was your home, so you need to remember where you came from. It is not that serious for you to have all these rules. It is okay to be organized but sometimes it is too much.

Lesson #3: Beauticians should be more considerate when it is about their OG clients

My mother used to always get her hair done by this beautician and she would sometimes send me her too. This beautician is well-known for her gift. (Her name will not be revealed) Our father never liked her and could not understand why my mother did.

He would always tell her that she needed to stop going to her and she hated to admit that he was right about her. It was an incident between her and this beautician that she did not like. She felt that there was no need for her to do something like that. My mother missed one appointment because she was tired from working the night shift.

This beautician knew my mother is a nurse so I could not process why she did what she did. She was trying to tell her that she overslept and that she had no idea that she was calling her but instead of offering a solution like this: Tiffany, you missed your appointment. Do you want to schedule another one? She hung the phone up and that broke her heart. She never went back to her ever since that day. My mother was a leverage to her. There were clients that this beautician would not have if it were not for her.

Lesson #4: Teach your children to respect beauticians

Any appointment that my mother would make for me as a child, she would say that I needed to be careful with my words. She believes that parents should educate their children on what can be said and what should not be said when you go off places. On TikTok, a mother posted a video of her daughter getting her hair braided for her birthday. Her daughter has this expression on her face like she does not want to be in that seat.

Her mother wonders if something is wrong and that she should be happy that she will look cute for her party. I cannot blame the daughter in this clip because her mother was edging her on to say how she feels. Watch the thirty minutes and three seconds of the hilarious video from the @realcomediennelatrese!

I want all my women to know that good hair speaks louder than words. If you are comfortable with telling your stories, sharing your similar experiences with beauticians in your responses.

See you soon!

hair
1

About the Creator

Janay Ealey

Greetings, my fellow readers!

Writer.

Social Media Manager.

Student.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)10 months ago

    Truth be Told 💯❤️📝😉👍Children should be taught to Respect Beauticians...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.