Humor logo

Dear Diary

Am I selfish?

By Melania J.L.Published 3 months ago 3 min read
3

Dear Diary,

Today has been a wild ride on the emotional rollercoaster - I've found myself in the throes of an existential crisis.

Can you believe it? Me, selfish? The nerve!

It's like discovering my pet goldfish has been secretly judging me all along.

So, here I am, grappling with the burning question: Am I selfish, or am I just going through a bizarre phase, reminiscent of my one-year broccoli boycott?

Ok, let's break it down shall we? I admit, I enjoy having things go my way.

Who doesn't?

But it's not like I'm plotting world domination or hoarding all the cookies.

I'm just a regular person navigating life, occasionally blinded by the dazzling light of my own awesomeness.

Last week, my friend asked to share my candy bar, and I said no.

Selfish?

Maybe, but have you ever tried sharing the last piece of chocolate?

It's like asking a wizard to part with their wand.

It's not happening.

Then, there was the accidental drink spill on my friend's new shirt. Did I offer to buy her a new one?

Nope.

Selfish move or honest mistake? I like to think of it as an avant-garde performance art piece - "The Spilled Beverage Chronicles."

I did feel bad afterward, but only because I didn't want her to unleash the wrath of a thousand spilled drinks upon me.

But hold on!

Why does being selfish get such a bad rap?

Shouldn't we take care of ourselves before becoming everyone's savior?

It's like they expect me to be a superhero when I'm clearly still in the "trying to figure out how to fold a fitted sheet" stage of life.

I wish I could have a moment of clarity like in those cheesy coming-of-age movies where the main character suddenly becomes a paragon of selflessness.

But let's be real; life isn't a movie.

It's more like a sitcom with laugh tracks and unexpected plot twists.

And right now, I'm the protagonist stumbling through the comedic chaos.

Maybe I'm overthinking this whole selfishness thing. Perhaps I'm not selfish; I'm just a human, prone to occasional lapses in altruism.

Even Mother Teresa probably had a moment when she hoarded the last slice of pizza. It's a universal struggle, like trying to find matching socks in the laundry.

The big question is, am I willing to change my ways if it means being less selfish?

Or am I content with being a bit self-centered, as long as I'm not causing a global catastrophe?

But I also know that I should embrace the little acts of self-care and indulgence that bring me joy.

These are some deep thoughts for a middle schooler. It's like asking a cat to solve a Rubik's Cube – confusing and likely to result in knocking the Cube off the table.

For now, I've decided to indulge in some tacos for dinner. Who cares if it's seen as a selfish act?

Everyone deserves a little self-indulgence now and then, right?.......right?

Tacos may not solve my existential crisis, but they sure know how to distract me from it. It's like a delicious fiesta in my mouth, and I'm the guest of honor.

As I savor each flavorful bite, I ponder the complexity of human nature. Is it possible to strike a balance between self-care and altruism?

Can I be the protagonist who learns to share the last chocolate without losing the essence of my awesomeness?

These questions linger in the air, much like the aroma of spices from my taco dinner.

Now, if you'll excuse me., I think I'll go get me that tacos.

Until next time, Diary.

Yours truly,

A self-proclaimed selfish but secretly awesome kid.

LaughterHilariousFunnyComedyWriting
3

About the Creator

Melania J.L.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Margaret Brennan3 months ago

    Loved every second of reading this. It's truly awesome.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.