Humor logo

5 Ways Using an Air Conditioner in the Bedroom this Winter Improved my Well-being

It's not what you think!

By Scott ChristensonPublished 7 months ago Updated 6 months ago 3 min read

Recently, so many old ideas and assumptions have been turned upside down. Eggs are now good for us. 5 minutes of HIIT exercise is more beneficial than 2 hours of running. A Paleo diet might be the key to longevity. New data from Johns Hopkins University shows promising results for turning our approach to indoor climate control in a radical new direction.

Over the last 2 months, I’ve tested their ground shattering new finding, and found amazing benefits.

1. Improved Mindfulness

With indoor temperatures in my home now hovering around 40F, I spend more time under the covers. Sleeping 10 hours a day has reduced the time I spent surfing the web and binge watching Netflix. As it is too cold to go to the kitchen in the early morning before work, I drink less coffee. Cutting back on caffeine has helped improve my sleep quality, and improved my overall mindfulness.

2. Health Benefits

As I began visiting the doctor more often with colds and flu, my Vitamin D deficiency was detected at an early stage. Dr Dosanjh was able to suggest I begin supplementation before it caused any health problem.

3. Renewed Interest in Career Growth

I realized I had been coasting along in my position as an insurance claims adjuster for a national firm based in Madison Wisconsin for the last five years. With the increase in monthly utility bills, due to my central heating and cooling systems counteracting each other, I have renewed my motivation to maximize my career growth and earning potential. I have begun studying for the Wisconsin Actuarial Exam FAM using the additional hours in bed my new lifestyle has afforded me.

4. Improved Relationship with Coworkers

My team leader, Jessica, had previously been frosty in her dealings toward me. Since embarking on my lifestyle change, she has taken a newfound interest in my well-being and frequently asks how I am doing. One day, as I was trembling with excitement at my newfound potential, she discussed with me the effects of inflation, and even asked if I would like to apply for a salary increase.

5. Genuine Relationships

Finding individuals who are open to personal growth and a meaningful relationship is crucial in life. My previous partner, Gwen, was resistant to change and fixated on our lifestyle of the past. She would prefer to soak in the warm bathtub of daily routine than embrace the invigorating, brisk wind of change. I am now in search of a new partner willing to embrace the lifestyle of the future!

Thanks for reading! What other things do you think being cold and tired could do for you? Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

**

Note: I’m posting this on behalf of Howard Bubski, who claims that some characters and events portrayed are fictitious, even though it mostly rings true to me. All photos from Unsplash and Wikimedia Commons.

**

Definition of "Clickbait" as written by Sam Altman's Wikipedia of the future:

Clickbait is characterized by sensational or exaggerated headlines and images designed to grab attention and entice users to click through to a particular piece of content. It often employs curiosity gaps or incomplete information to lure readers in. Emotionally charged language, shocking statements, and promises of exclusive or unbelievable content are also common features of clickbait. Additionally, it tends to focus on trending topics or controversial issues to capitalize on public interest. Clickbait is known for prioritizing clicks over delivering genuine value, often leading to disappointment for users who find the actual content to be underwhelming or irrelevant. While it can be an effective strategy for driving traffic, clickbait is widely criticized for its deceptive and manipulative nature, eroding trust in online content.

Satire

About the Creator

Scott Christenson

Born and raised in Milwaukee WI, living in Hong Kong. Hoping to share some of my experiences w short story & non-fiction writing. Have a few shortlisted on Reedsy:

https://blog.reedsy.com/creative-writing-prompts/author/scott-christenson/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.7 months ago

    This is the secret to life, but maybe it needs to be taken further - if you had these results at 40F, I bet you could Triple the results at 20F! Seriously though, this was a great read, Scott! I appreciate your work!

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    This new lifestyle is so exciting!

  • Kageno Hoshino7 months ago

    I love to get cozy

Scott ChristensonWritten by Scott Christenson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.