Humans logo

Zhe

thefree

By Lorraine - Lorrie MoralesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

@zhethefree

As I came slinking around the corner on my way back to my classroom, I heard your voice in the dim hallway that day at school scolding that bully and telling him to “leave my friend alone.” I was only 8 years old, Grade 2, but I never forgot how you stood your ground. You left an impression on my young female mind. Years later when I was watching KidGoku anime with some kids I was babysitting, I found out that you were one of the voice actresses and I started to follow you on social media. What an inspiration you have become to so many females but especially for me!

Zhe the Free – you are the optimist, the opportunist, offering hope for so many young voices that need to be heard. When you dropped your The Love EP at the end of 2020, you knew what the world needed to hear because that 4-letter word came at just the right time during the craziness of the pandemic – I L-O-V-E-d it. But even before the pandemic, you shared open spaces, always making room in your life for those you love and care about. They say you are a prairie girl from a small town with mountain views who is still on solid ground in fields of wheat and snow-covered plains pursuing your Master’s degree in Anthropology at University. Shining in the spotlight on stage, you share your opinions through hip hop. You are an awesome rapper!

Rapping/Voice Acting

I hear the music in your soul and you share your gift of words freely with all who care to listen. And what messages you have delivered!

You make meaningful change by providing Open Mic nights, jam with your dad in your basement and share your messages on so many different platforms. You led the Calgary freestyle group through the pandemic times on Zoom – the Cyber Club is still freestyle rapping. It’s the organic, raw, creative expression that people experience weekly on Wednesdays to this day. I love that you vibe with life and create an energy for those around you. It’s infectious! I sat in the audience at one of your performances, so I know! Whether it’s your Freestyle or Recording artist talent, it lights you up and we look up to you! You beat to your own drum and we sing, rap and dance with you both virtually or physically to share your joy.

You tell people’s stories and embrace us with your emotions. And girl, your poetry and metaphors are the lyrics of life. Someone tagged you as a #ruralAlbertarapfiend. You are a playful, poetic performer. A female rapper who promotes diverse voices.

I know that you were a filmmaker from your high school days. I remember reading a magazine that featured you and your classmate labeling you as “upcoming artists in the film industry”. And here you are, still creating. The latest one I saw was raw – LITFACE. You’ve been on talk shows; hosted events; danced, sang, rapped, spoken word, acted and modelled. So many people, besides me, follow you on Instagram. We love watching your posts and seeing your love of art. You are so creative!

And then there’s the narratives and journeys of the Shishalh Nation on the coast of British Columbia on the northern coast of Canada. You finally managed to continue with some of your course work. Being an instructor with the Kamskenow and Science Ambassador Program to northern Indigenous communities in northern Saskatchewan as a teacher just makes me look up to you even more. The PAVED Arts and Chokecherry Studios in Saskatoon are another amazing group and I loved being part of the evening when everyone shared their voices. It’s such an expressive group and I was blown away by the talent you drew out of each amazing artist. You are a gifted teacher and music artist.

Thanks so much for pursuing your passion and sharing it with me, but especially with the world. Right now, the way the world is so upside down, Peer Health is even more important and you continue to light the fire of the flames within and provide an outlet to sound the voices that need to be heard. Thanks for making it possible to “walk barefoot in the majesty of acceptance.” You are my hero.

Love from,

An aspiring female artist who wrote a rap for you:

My life is one long track of words within my heart that freely flow from me

I didn’t choose all the precious notes but the sound comes steadily.

I have some tears, some foolish pride and smiles that make me cry,

But not until the room is silent and the notes being to fly

Will we unroll the music score and ask the reasons why.

And even in the darkest days will we begin to see

You’ve been my inspiration – my fellow rapper – Zhe.

823 words

love

About the Creator

Lorraine - Lorrie Morales

Lorrie is a semi-retired educator who fell in love with writing, reading and teaching at a young age. To this day, she continues to work as a consultant, reading a plethora of books on all subjects and has published two books.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lorraine - Lorrie MoralesWritten by Lorraine - Lorrie Morales

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.