Humans logo

Wrong

I am not wrong

By Valeria GutierrezPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Wrong
Photo by Daniel Olah on Unsplash

I, like many girls, had always wanted to try things with a girl. Never did i think i’d be in love with one though. I met her during basketball season, we were both on the same team, and the moment i saw her she caught my attention. She never knew till one day a girl, who i had told that i might have feeling for her, went to her and told her what i had said. At first of course she didn’t believe me but i was too shy to talk to her and tell her it was true. After basketball season was over we started talking a little more at school and we also got to know each other more. We later got really close and it all happened so fast. When we were both ready we decided to make it official and i think it was the best thing we could’ve done. I wasn’t ready to come out to my mother so i’d call my girlfriend “my friend”. My mom let me go to her house one day for a birthday part but she had never seen my girlfriend, and when she did her concern was “does she like girls?” i would always tell her no or that i didn’t know. One day she found a note one of my friends had written and it talked about me and my girlfriend being together and doing stuff and my mom did not take that very well. She started asking me if i was gay and asking a bunch of questions. She let it go though and i had asked her in the car did she think i would ever like girls and she said she didn’t think i would but she didn’t know. She had told me if i did she would support me she just didn’t know what to think at that moment. Soon after it was mother’s day and i had gotten my mother a rose and i bought an extra one. Of course she asked who it was for, and i had told her i got it for myself. It wasn’t for me, i gave it to my girlfriend the next day at school. When i got home from school and my mom got home from work i went outside and my mom im guessing went in my room and didn’t see the rose. As soon as i came back in she started questioning me about it asking who i gave it to and where it was. When i told her i gave it to “my friend” she got really mad and asked “why” and other things like “do you like her?” She asked to go through my phone but didn’t find anything about me and her. I just knew she didn’t trust me then. She had told me to stop talking to her and i didn’t. I continued texting her and talking to her at school like always. My mom and i didn’t talk about her from that point on, until, when i came back from a trip she said one of her coworkers daughters said that i told someone that i was gay and i had a girlfriend. Me and my girlfriend had been texting and i had my notifications on so my mom could see but we were talking as friends on purpose so she could see that’s what we were. She asked to see the messages and got mad that we were still talking when she told me to stop talking to her. I started crying and she asked why i was crying if me and her weren’t together. That’s when i told her that she liked me and i liked her. She was silent for a while and then she started telling me it wasn’t right for me to feel like that about another girl. She also started talking about God which made me mad because it was like she was bringing him up on purpose. We have never been a family that’s been all about God and now she wanted to tell me to read the bible and go to church, she even suggested a psychiatrist, she just wasn’t having it. She’d tell me about bible verses that talk about homosexuality being wrong and she’d send me articles about what would happen to homosexual people. I tried to help her see things from another point of view but she refused to hear any of it. She sat down with me and read something about God and what he said about homosexuality, and i honestly was not listening. She’s making me feel like i’m wrong for having feelings for someone, and for being in love. I am happy with my person and i wouldn’t wanna have it any other way.

lgbtq
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.