Humans logo

WHY NOT TECHNOLOGY?

STORY TIME

By umer aliPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
WHY NOT TECHNOLOGY?
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

That is what God promises to do.

God has some technology to get your problem in the care of.

Technology...

Like the kettle, technology will increasingly need your attention.

It is one of the keys to avoiding dangerous behaviour in the midst of a technology revolution, whether motivated by information technology or emerging new applications.

Technological advances will be made, and the needs of the public will emerge, so the kettle is worth talking about and learning.

Degrees and certifications are worth so much nowadays. People study for any degree, from Accounting to the Arts, from Biology to Journalism and Media Studies. Sometimes even one of those just to have something to say about life, to compare it to.

If you’re like me, and your imagination is limited, reading about different fields of study is good, and it teaches you different things, but it’s not the same as doing it.

But that’s not the point. The point is that it’s free, and easy.

I recently switched from an engineering degree to communications, mostly because I wanted to work in the media industry. It’s true that you can get a degree in journalism from the School of Journalism, but I had a different idea in mind.

Let me tell you a story:

One of my cousins had recently finished his degree at Sant Antoni College, a public university in Málaga. After a few months after graduation, my cousin was thinking about doing some consultancy work. To keep the costs down, he chose to work with a company that would provide him with a desk.

Just like so many of the people who took his place, his supervisor wanted to give him all the experience, to help him become an expert in his field, to give him everything possible. To make a long story short, after two years of working there, my cousin was given an offer to work in the United States.

Now, in the United States, you don’t get that kind of deal. In fact, you don’t get any job at all. You don’t have a salary. It’s part of what they call a training program.

My cousin, on the other hand, had been working for free, in order to get that experience. But at the same time, he was earning some money. He was working for a company that would train him to do some consultancy work, at least for a while.

Had my cousin stayed in the Canary Islands, he would have gotten a lousy-paying job as an accountant, where he would be following orders for a company for three to five years, before he would quit. There’s no way to get some experience, no experience to learn, no life to live. He would have been sitting in an office, performing simple, trivial tasks for a few years.

Now, think about it. What kind of life is that, where you’re living in order to pay for others’ work, while others are making millions? It’s disgusting, isn’t it?

But there you have it. That’s life, and that’s why we need to think about what we want to do in life. Not just what we want to learn, but what we want to do with our life.

I had a similar experience myself. I decided to become a Digital Artist, so I went to study at the IFN School of Visual Arts in Málaga. I learned a lot there, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as I would have liked, because it wasn’t really what I had in mind.

My cousin also worked for two years after graduation, but in Spain, that’s not even worth mentioning. We’re talking about a country that is known as a tourist destination, so it’s very expensive to live there.

I eventually found work in Málaga, but I moved down there to work, because that was where all the jobs were. I couldn’t live there, and I’d get more money working in Spain than I would in Germany, but that’s not why I wanted to do it.

If I wanted to have a career, I wanted to go to Germany. That’s where the jobs were, the government’s doing something right.

But there I met a lot of people who didn’t know what they wanted to do with their lives.

Instead of trying to figure out what they want to do, they chose to spend a few years doing nothing, but they were happy doing it. I heard about one guy who said he was happy not to have a job, because he enjoyed not having to work. Another guy said he was happy being a tour guide.

I met a few people who felt they were being taken advantage of because of their age. “What do I do? I’m an old man, and I can’t find a job,” they’d tell me. The government, on the other hand, was showering money on them. “I don’t see the problem,” they’d tell me.

WHY NOT TECHNOLOGY?

We have this question of whether technology is a necessity or a luxury, or whether it’s beneficial. But I think we need to realize that technology, at least in its early stages, is a necessity.

It’s the only way to get new knowledge and a new vision of the world around you. It’s the only way to get new ideas, new visions. It’s the only way to learn something, anything.

You can’t do any of those things without technology. All those people I mentioned who say they don’t need technology, who say they’re perfectly happy just working at an office, are really in a tight spot, because they don’t have a job.

We have a problem today. Most people aren’t happy. The vast majority of people are miserable, because they have no vision for their lives. They’re living a life dictated by money and advertising, and all the values that have been passed down to them by the mass media. They’re living a life that doesn’t correspond to their needs, their interests, or even their desires.

humanityquoteshow tofriendshipfamilyfact or fictioncelebritiesartadvice
Like

About the Creator

umer ali

You Might Learn A thing or two here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.