Humans logo

Why If We're Friends, I Won't Attend Your Anniversary or Children's Birthday - Jim Iyke

Jim Iyke opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished 11 days ago 3 min read

Nollywood actor Jim Iyke is one of the most revered and one of the most famouos actors in the Nigerian movie industry. But for those who want to become good friends with the actor, get ready, because there are some things Jim Iyke is saying you shouldn't expect. In an interview with Teju Babyface, Jim Iyke opened up about his outlook on friendship and things one shouldn't expect from him. Here's what Jim Iyke said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking about his outlook on friendship, Jim Iyke revealed saying:

JIM IYKE: We don’t hang around emotions. We don’t have time for it. That’s why I can’t be friends with everybody. I need somebody that won’t be hung up on my last act. I’m too transitional for it. My propensity for growth is at an alacrity that you can’t keep up with.

Who I was yesterday is different from who I am today. So it’s not everybody that can keep up with that. I need somebody that I won’t call for 10 weeks and he is not in his feelings. There’s a time I didn’t call [my friend] for 4 months and he didn’t call me either. We don’t have to. But when we call, it’s value.

I don’t want a friend that I am in your life every day. It’s never going to work because I will never show up for your kid’s birthday. You will find me wanting at your anniversary. When you have certain issues I might not be the one to reach.

But I tell you, when you call me and I sense that it’s not even a function of what you tell me, I sense that you need me, I’m going to move every mountain. So you decide the kind of friends you want.

Reacting to Jim Iyke's revelation, a number of people had a lot to say on social media. One person said "I completely agree with him though I show up on my friends' special days." while another said "Why him no go show? Na cultist?" and another person said "Me too, I don’t know how to make friends. I wonder who’ll attend my wedding 😀"

What do you think of what Jim Iyke had to say? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a writing community called "Jide Okonjo Writers Club" where you can create, earn, participate in critique, and mingle with other writers. To join us, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.