Humans logo

Why I Performed for Tinubu - Waje Responds to Backlash

Waje speaks out

By Jide OkonjoPublished 8 months ago 3 min read

Nigerian singer Waje was heavily criticized when she performed at President Bola Tinubu's Inauguration concert. There were calls to have her cancelled, and a lot of fans expressed disappointment in her and her decision because of their feelings towards the president.

Now, in a new interview with The Nation, Waje is finally speaking out about why she performed as well as addressing how she handled the criticism. Here's what she said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Waje performing at Tinubu's concert

Speaking about why she performed at President Bola Tinubu's concert, Waje said:

WAJE: To be fair, I understood why they were talking when I performed at Tinubu’s concert. I have never really been a political person. For me at the time, I was making a business decision. It was a decision my management and I made. But when they came for me, I understood and that’s why I never responded because everyone is in their right to feel aggrieved seeing we’ve been through so much that it can feel like you’re turning a blind eye. However, I performed for an institution, not a person. The presidency is an institution not a person. You’d never see me at the campaign rally or all of that I stay away from them.

Speaking about her reaction to criticism, Waje said:

WAJE: Before, I used to actually cry. I honestly believe that people who criticise and troll people are just trying to focus on something to take them away from their problems. Because if truly you are fulfilled and focused on something, you would not have the time troll others. 24 hours is not even enough for me. By the time I deal with my daughter and family issues, deal with work, mental issues and even surviving, how many hours do I have? That’s why I do not even do clapbacks. When I see someone troll me, I feel that person is subtly venting. Let me tell you a story, when I was very active on X (twitter), I had a boy who always insulted the living daylight out of me but by the time we finished our conversation, we were best friends. He became one of my armies. Sometimes, people need to understand that everyone is going through something and the fastest way to get through what we are going through is to make the person feel worse than we feel. For the first few minutes of trolling, I might be upset but I move on, I no send them. If you vent to me by trolling me, won’t it to be foolish of me to also respond?

What do you think of what Waje said, and about her decision to perform at the concert? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat!

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.