Humans logo

"Why Are You Always Acting One Type of Role?" - Bolanle Ninalowo Responds

Bolanle talks acting the 'bad guy' roles

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Bolanle Ninalowo is currently in people's faces around the world as he stars as Oga Rambo in the latest Netflix teen drama series, Far From Home. His character is a bad guy, a role that Bolanle Ninalowo has been known to play well a lot. Because he plays it so well, and because it's the kind of role people keep seeing him these days, there is a big question about whether Bolanle Ninalowo is getting typecast.

Well, according to the actor, that is what he wants. Here is what Bolanle Ninalowo had to say on the subject of being typecast and the criticism of him only playing one type of role. Here's what he said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Bolanle Ninalowo on Channels Television

Speaking about being typecast and the criticism of him only acting one type of role, Bolanle Ninalowo said:

I guess you know it's how I've painted myself. I'm a product, I'm selling something. So what you see is what I've created and God has blessed for me. Tomorrow I can switch it again then I put in the work to get that done as well. But for now, as it is, what I'm doing right now with 'Far From Home' started about seven years ago. It was a dream from seven years ago that just manifested through 'Far From Home' now. I get the expression that I see myself, I look in the mirror I see a bad guy. And there's nothing as good as you selling what you see of yourself to people. It becomes seamless. I in the beginning did not want to accept that because I didn't want people to see me as what I'm not because I'm really not a bad guy. I think I'm a really cool guy. I'm a big baby, people don't know. But I'm all about the audience. I'm all about what you're buying. So if you see it as this is what it is, then I have to capitalize on that. I'm the one that goes where the audience flow, I always tell people I'm not a director or producer's actor, I'm a people's actor. It's business.

Speaking about playing the role of Rambo in 'Far From Home', Bolanle Ninalowo said:

I loved playing Rambo. The character was and is a blessing, one that I patiently prayed and waited for after carefully analyzing and understanding my audience and market over the years of building my brand and career. I am one who fully understands the importance of “Image, Type and Essence” as part of the success drivers of an actor with regards to building and developing my brand as an actor. The Oga Rambo character totally fulfills my thirst and hunger for more! Viewers should watch Rambo as I believe that its a particular role type that I personally bring to life that will entertain them in every ramification. I have worked tirelessly hard over the years to build a brand which evolves around this type of delivery and mastered a unique way of connection between the audience and myself which has given me my place in their hearts and also the industry at large. It is a remarkable act that I am blessed with which totally eliminates comparisons.

What do you think about what Bolanle Ninalowo said, and about this specific type of role he plays. Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.