Humans logo

Whatever Did You Say To Warrant That?

Warrant what you say, how about "those people"!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Whatever Did You Say To Warrant That?
Photo by Ayo Ogunseinde on Unsplash

It is black history month. So I will start out "those people" with black people. I want to say, what about "those people," like I am automatically supposed to know what someone means by saying that? I have to admit, my time spent with black people has been limited by where I live. But all I can think of is all of the stereotypes, the news, the crime reports. You know how those people are? Wrong! That is just wrong!

I am Indigenous, Native American, American Indian, Indian! I have lived through all of these tags and more. I have been referred to as you people, heard about those people and it bugs me! Because I am an enrolled member of a nation does not make me one of "those people" or "you people." The news, the crime reports, the stereotypes are all connected with "my people" too! It is okay if I say, my people as it is with affection and relationship and connection, that doesn't come with "those people or you people!"

By Andrew George on Unsplash

As long as I am writing about this topic, I will add a few more comments that have happened recently:

1. All the pictures of Native Americans on Unsplash are either black people, who may also be Native American or in Regalia. Yes regalia, or outfits is the correct term. Costumes is not correct. They are not wearing Halloween costumes, nor should anyone else wear Native American regalia as a costume for Halloween, whether it is real or fake. It should never be worn by someone not from that tribe, without permission.

2. Not all tribes have the same beliefs or cultural practices. I can not speak for everyone. I am expected to be the "Indian expert" regularly. As a culture consultant and an elder, I may know more that many, but no one is an expert!

3. Being socialized in the culture will mean that our pauses may be longer. Therefore my people may feel cut off, not listened to, not heard by helpers and will usually not say that, but rather will not come back if that is an option. It may not feel like an option, due to child protection involvement, probation or simply needing the particular service for example.

By Rodolfo Sanches Carvalho on Unsplash

How about red heads as "those people"? It is insinuated that they have quite the temper! That most are of Irish descent and that makes them another of "those people". I have nieces that are red heads, and are Native American, so I want to say, which of those people do you mean? They do not look Native American, I haven't noticed a temper and they have not done ancestry, but their mother has some Irish ancestry. Not sure about my brother. I have 1%, but we have different dads.

By Sammy Williams on Unsplash

Someone who has committed a crime are those people. And many think all criminals carry guns. Democrats are those people, republicans are those people too. Religions are those people, while anyone into astrology or astronomy or horoscopes are those people too! If you are not a member of a religion you can be those people as atheist or agnostic, or clumped in a group.

By Yoav Hornung on Unsplash

GLBTQ+ are "those people" and I can go on and on about how often I have heard this. Please stop saying this about people! Those people, you people and this kind of people, and others are not something I want to hear again. And I know I can get in trouble for calling anyone out as "you people" or using the wrong terminology and I hope I am as then I can use proper terms. My only excuse is I am getting old and don't always keep up with what is proper today.

Yes, I hear "those people", are the ones you really do not like. That is what bothers me. It is never those people are the best. And even if it was, it would still bug me. How do you know all of those people are the best. That feels like you are trying to flatter me, but it is not working as I get stuck on those people every time. And you may be saying the second part of the sentence as my expression will tell you I am not liking what it is you are saying.

By ckturistando on Unsplash

I don't mind hearing about how "those cookies" are the best. Or maybe how "those Dodge trucks" were the best made ever, with the slant six. But please do not say "those people, them people, you people" And do not just do it for me. Do it for all of humanity. Miigwech/Pidamaya/Thank you!

humanity
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.