Humans logo

Celebrating My Birthday

All month long

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Celebrating My Birthday
Photo by Gaelle Marcel on Unsplash

When I was ten, my dad died on my birthday. I had trouble with that until when in my thirties a friend pointed that out to me. I decided I would celebrate all month from then on and even if that day wasn't good, others would be.

This year I turned sixty-eight. It is okay with me as I do not feel even one day over sixty-seven. I ordered a few things on-line, some Tupperware and two pairs of beaded earrings. My husband is getting me a new phone for Christmas and my birthday as it is a little pricey and we have a budget for each other. We do since the year he bought me these expensive brown diamond earrings for my birthday.

I found out they were at least $800. as when I lost one from wearing them while riding my motorcycle and tried to replace one, I learned I would have to replace the pair. If I could find one to replace it, then it would probably cost me as much as replacing two. They didn't have another pair. $800. was what they told me it would be to replace one. I did something else. I added the diamonds from the other earring to my wedding band. It looks great and I think about how I just added at least $800. to my wedding rings. Now, do not ask me what it cost to do that. It was a steal I think.

This year I have chatted with friends on zoom and we got together for a meal and to plan a trip to Nashville. My husband took me out for dinner at the only place in our area that serves popovers, one of my favorites. His favorite place is Dairy Queen (DQ) and that is where we will be going for his birthday because as we were waiting for our food, he said, "We could have been home by now if we went to DQ!"

I had the dinner with the hubby a few days before my birthday as I had made plans to go out with my daughter for dinner and to see the Golden Girls puppet review that landed right on my birthday. My son's wife loves the Golden Girls, so they came up for it and joined us for dinner and even bought dinner! Since I told them about the dinner I had when out with John, my daughter decided that she would take me to that place for popovers and the brussel sprouts I mentioned as she owed me dinner and a pedicure with the puppet show.

Son Caleb, Robin, Joanna and I

I told them the very best ever brussel sprouts was my favorite thing about the meal! I described them as orgasmic. So the next 10 minutes of our conversation centered around what was in the brussel sprouts. I have a favorite brussel sprout recipe of my own, so I really didn't pay attention. I will next time. Another son called to wish me a happy birthday and we had the brussel sprout conversation also lasting for another 5-10 minutes. He said that he and his partner like brussel sprouts and he told me just how he makes his. We decided when they come up, we will go for brussel sprouts and then when I get down there he can fix his brussel sprouts for me. I think I will stop talking about them now, as I am getting hungry. My kids are all good cooks, some grill, smoke meat and others bake. They did not get it from me.

I woke up to a birthday card from my husband. He cooked me lunch. He has been making me laugh constantly with his whistling, singing and humming songs with old in them. The list is never ending. I heard from about 150 people wishing me a great day and a happy birthday. Still others sent text messages. One powwow music with a happy birthday song. Another Big Daddy song with video. Still other phone calls with singing Happy Birthday. How could anyone not have a good day with all of that attention! I talked and texted with one of my brothers. I should be done but there are still at least 10 or 11 days left of this month. I know for sure I will be eating brussel sprouts at least once more!

feature

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.