Humans logo

What New Hobbies Can Bring To Our Lives?

I've always believed that I was destined for greatness

By Gina StefanPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
What New Hobbies Can Bring To Our Lives?
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

Like most of us, I've always believed that I was destined for greatness. I was certain as a child that I wanted to and would one day be a Broadway star, but then my desire shifted to international best-selling novelist the next day. To be honest, there hasn't been much change since then. I'm constantly daydreaming. I don't even have a single fantasy. It's a lot of fun to imagine all of the places where a series of behaviors could lead us. I also enjoy fantasizing about all the things I could learn if I had a little more time. Piano classes, Spanish lessons, and fencing lessons! In this life, there is so much to do! Though I enjoy daydreaming on a regular basis, when Covid transformed the world, I realized I hadn't acted on these unplanned whims of inspiration in a long time.

People from all around the world discovered hidden treasures of hobbies that they decided to dust up and try on again after Covid was introduced and the planet went into hibernation. Things that brought us delight but for which we had never made time were waiting for us to return. Things we'd never dared to try because of the world's other diversions and duties were waiting for us as well. I, too, acquired a few new skills that I didn't have time for before to covid. I resumed writing and reading on a regular basis. Unfortunately, before Covid came into my life, I had forgotten how much this small activity had brought me joy for a long time. The only books I was reading were those required for my literature classes. It's not as if this was a deliberate act. I used to tell myself that I'd read it again when I had more time. Of course, telling yourself that is such a sad thing to do. Because we all know how difficult it is to find time.

I didn't think I'd have time, but I did. In fact, I had far too much of it. I was practically alone in Paris when Covid entered our lives. I needed to find a technique to keep my mind from becoming consumed by uncertainty, dread, and pessimistic ideas. So, what exactly did I do? I followed my curiosity's lead. In the middle of all of the misery that Covid has inflicted on us, I know I'm not the only one who has sought solace in learning new things. I realize it's not a huge issue, but now that the world is starting to open up again, I'm scared I won't have time to learn new things. Staying at home to learn something that appears to be unnecessary is not a heroic gesture. And, while I am eager for life to return to normal, I believe that this excruciatingly difficult experience of living with covid has also taught me a vital lesson.

Spending time with myself is one of my favorite things to do! Who'd have guessed? I enjoyed following my interest and taking action as a result of it. It's amazing how much being horrible at painting, learning a new instrument, and trying to speak a new language has brought me! Because, for the first time in a long time, I'm acting on my interest. I haven't filed it away in my mind as something I'll do someday. I took the brave step of being bad at anything once more, and oh, did it feel good. I realized that there is so much more I want to study.

It appears like the world will return to normal. That means a great deal to me. But I'll preserve the curiosity and courage to act that quarantine has instilled in me. I need to know that something good came out of being pent up for so long and distracting myself from worrying about my loved ones. I'll keep creating and seeing myself develop.I don't think I'll have as much time for all of the weird hobbies I took up in quarantine in the future, but I'll definitely return to a few of them on a regular basis because I enjoy the freedom that being able to fail has given me. Failing artistically is so much fun that I wish I could do it every day.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.