Humans logo

How To Make More Time In Your Day

How do successful people arrive to their desired destination?

By Gina StefanPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
How To Make More Time In Your Day
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

How do successful people arrive to their desired destination? They, like us, have the same 24 hours and, no doubt, a slew of other duties on top of it all. So, with everything that life has thrown at them, how have they found time to work? Personally, I have a lot of things I want to do, and it seems like the older I get, the more difficult it becomes to strike a balance.

Not only must we figure out how to cross everything off our to-do list, but we must also make time to exercise, socialize, and take care of ourselves and our sanity every day! Here are two things that have helped me gain a better understanding of my situation. I have a lot of objectives and things I want to do in my life, so having more time felt like a superhero to me.

I'm getting rid of Netflix from my life.

Cutting Netflix out of my life was a significant move that provided me a lot more time to work on things that were truly beneficial to me. I grew up without a television for a portion of my life. I recall how surprised my classmates were when I told them about it. They couldn't fathom living without their beloved television shows! Surprisingly, I discovered other ways to keep myself occupied. My parents made a wise decision, and I am grateful for it. It helped me to enhance my imagination, I believe.

Please don't misunderstand me... Like everyone else, I enjoy movies and Netflix. There is a wealth of talent, incredible storytelling, and knowledge to be discovered. But it eats up a lot of my time! I suddenly have all the time I needed after making the difficult decision to take a Netflix break. Thanks to the shift that one decision brought me, I remember feeling true hope for my goals.If you can't commit to fully eliminating it from your life, set limits on how many times and for how long you will watch each week. Then sit back and watch the magic unfold! You'll discover how much time you have and how feasible it is to fulfill all of your tasks.

Prioritize the most critical tasks first.

Having good grades in school is something I enjoy. Not being on top of things makes me nervous. Despite this, I took the purposeful decision to reduce my academic priorities. Why? Because I have other items on my to-do list that must be completed in order for me to be successful. I want to be an entrepreneur, but after a hard day of studying and homework, I didn't have the energy. I'm quite good at making excuses. The straightforward ones, such as "I'm too weary; I'll do it tomorrow." Well, tomorrow never came, and when it still didn't, I decided I needed to make a change. I decided to put my side hustle business at the top of my priority list because I would finish my schoolwork regardless. It makes me uncomfortable to turn in poor work to a professor. It, even if I had to stay up late at night to finish the assignment, I would do so.

I enjoy working on my personal projects, and because of this, it doesn’t take away as much of my energy. I’m still able to work on school later in the day. I’m not saying to forget all of your other responsibilities! Not at all! Education is important. I’m saying to make a list of the things you want to get done. How can you switch your schedule around to ensure that you will have enough energy to do everything on that list? We have a tendency to overestimate how much energy and mental capacity we will have in a given day. Be honest with yourself and attempt to make a timetable that will allow you to do all of your tasks, even if it means changing up your habit!

What do you hope to achieve in your life? My list is long, and I'm sure it's the same for you. Humans are creative organisms, and it's a beautiful feeling to see yourself build a dream from the ground up. I wish you the same happiness. I'm confident you'll be able to locate it. These two new behaviors I've adopted are simple, yet they've shown to be effective! I hope you find this information useful in your journey. If you choose to include them into your life, you will discover that they help you come closer to your goals.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.