Humans logo

What is Love?

and what if you do not experience it.

By Jeremy WhitePublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1
What is Love?
Photo by Leonardo Sanches on Unsplash

What is Love?

Love can mean a lot of different things to different people. I am going to include a poem about Love I wrote and then talk about something completely different.

Love a different take

What is Love?

There can be many

Meanings of Love.

There is puppy love

Or a crush.

Puppy love is when

You are young and

In Love.

A crush can be

At any age.

There is sexual

Attraction that

People think is Love.

But is not.

Then there are all

The different kinds

Of Love in the

LGBTQ+ community.

There is Demisexual

Which is when you

Have to know a person

Emotionally really well

Before you can fall

In Love with them.

There are Asexuals and

Aromantics.

Their love is different.

One is love with little

Or no sex.

The other one is no

Romantic feelings.

If you are both it

Is basically a companionship.

I hope you have experienced

At least one of these kinds of Love.

I said I was going to talk about something different. Let's talk about the people that do not Love or are incapable of love. This could be from past trauma, personality disorder, or neurological condition. It could be your upbringing that does not necessarily include trauma.

To me trauma could mean two things. One is physical abuse. You could have been abused at a young age. I think this could also be trauma from Bullying. This could make your self-esteem low. With low self-esteem you may not love yourself. You have to love yourself before you can love others.

The other thing I think of with trauma is if you have ever lost someone. This could be through death, a breakup, or just losing touch with someone. This could make you not want to love anyone ever again.

There are personality disorders that can cause you not to love. All the ones I can think of are bad. These are narcissistic personality disorder and some Sociopaths.

Depression can also cause a lack of feeling love.

Here are some different things that can cause lack of love.

Anhedonia is the inability to experience Joy or Pleasure

Alexithymia is when someone has difficulty experiencing, identifying, and expressing emotion. This could be caused by PTSD, eating disorders, and other conditions including Autism.

There is a condition called Depersonalization. Sometimes the World appears unreal like through a haze or fog or in 2D.

Let's talk about Aromantics. They do not feel Romantic love. They can still have a healthy relationship with the right person.

Let's get personal for a second. I am both Aromantic and Asexual which if you remember from the poem means I can have a companionship if I can find the right person. I also think I have Autism. Not sure if that has an effect on how I see Love.

I do not feel love at all. I have always been this way. I felt this way before I knew I was Aromantic and before I figured out, I had Autism. I understand the concept of Love, but the actual emotion of Love is non-existent in me. I have no idea why that is. This applies in all areas. Friendships, Family, Pets. It is just the way I am. I have gotten crap for it especially when people die. When I did not cry they got mad. I have some emotions. They just show in different ways. I know in terms of ever finding someone to be my companion not feeling love makes it very difficult.

That is the way I see different kinds of Love or lack of Love.

How do you view Love.

lgbtqCONTENT WARNINGadvice
1

About the Creator

Jeremy White

I am from a small town. I have grown up surrounded by woods. I love to Write. I started out with poems. I did not start writing stories until I joined vocal. Writing stories is really fun. I have a Bachelors in Psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.