Humans logo

We can always forgive, but we don't have to forget

English

By ignatius awang braminiaPublished 13 days ago 5 min read

Last summer, Jake and Mark had a huge fight. It started over something small, like most fights do. Mark had borrowed Jake’s favorite video game and accidentally scratched the disc. Jake was furious. They’d been best friends since kindergarten, but this felt like a betrayal.

“You’ve ruined it!” Jake shouted, holding up the damaged disc. “I can’t believe you were so careless.”

Mark looked genuinely sorry. “I didn’t mean to, Jake. I’ll buy you a new one.”

But Jake wasn’t ready to let it go. “That’s not the point! You don’t respect my stuff.”

Mark left, and for the next few weeks, they didn’t speak. Their mutual friends noticed the tension and tried to mediate, but neither budged. It wasn’t until their friend Sarah decided to host a barbecue that things began to thaw.

Sarah cornered Jake as he was loading up his plate with burgers. “You guys need to talk. This is ridiculous.”

Jake sighed. “I know, but it’s hard. He really hurt me.”

Sarah nodded. “I get it. But holding onto this anger isn’t helping anyone. Maybe you can forgive him, even if you can’t forget what happened.”Jake mulled over her words as he sat down to eat. He saw Mark across the yard, looking as miserable as he felt. Finally, he decided to make the first move. He walked over, heart pounding.

“Hey,” Jake started, shifting awkwardly from one foot to the other. “Can we talk?”

Mark looked up, hopeful. “Yeah, sure.”

They found a quiet spot under a tree. Jake took a deep breath. “I’ve been really mad at you. That game meant a lot to me, and it felt like you didn’t care.”

Mark nodded. “I get that. And I’m really sorry. I didn’t realize how important it was to you. I never meant to disrespect you.”

Jake appreciated the apology. “I know. And I’m willing to forgive you. But I can’t forget what happened. It’s gonna take time to trust you with my stuff again.”

Mark looked relieved. “That’s fair. I just want to make things right between us.”

From that point on, they started rebuilding their friendship. It wasn’t instant, and it wasn’t easy, but they both put in the effort. Jake learned to set clearer boundaries, and Mark became more mindful of how he treated Jake’s things.

Months later, they were back to their old ways, gaming together and joking around. Jake still remembered the incident, but it no longer held the same sting. Forgiveness had helped them move forward, but the memory served as a lesson in respect and understanding.

One evening, as they were hanging out, Mark handed Jake a small box. “What’s this?” Jake asked, curious.

“Just open it,” Mark replied, grinning.

Inside was a brand-new copy of the game that had started it all. Jake laughed. “You didn’t have to do this.”

“I know,” Mark said. “But I wanted to. Consider it a symbol of my promise to be a better friend.”

Jake smiled, feeling the weight of past hurts lift even more. “Thanks, man. I really appreciate it.”

As they fired up the game, Jake realized that while some things couldn’t be forgotten, they didn’t have to overshadow the good times. Forgiveness had paved the way for a stronger friendship, one built on mutual respect and understanding.

...

It was a crisp autumn afternoon when Lisa and Jenna had their falling out. They'd been best friends since middle school, inseparable through all of life’s ups and downs. But a misunderstanding about a borrowed dress changed everything.

Jenna had borrowed Lisa's favorite red dress for a party and promised to return it the next day. But when she handed it back, the dress had a stain that looked permanent.

“Jenna, what happened to my dress?” Lisa asked, holding up the fabric to inspect the damage.

Jenna bit her lip. “I’m so sorry, Lisa. Someone spilled wine on me at the party. I tried to get it out, but it wouldn’t come off.”

Lisa’s face fell. “This was my favorite dress. Why didn’t you tell me right away?”

“I was hoping I could fix it first,” Jenna admitted. “I didn’t want to upset you.”

Lisa sighed, frustration boiling over. “Well, now I’m upset anyway. You should’ve been more careful.”

The tension between them grew, and for weeks, they barely spoke. It wasn’t just about the dress; it was about trust and respect. Their mutual friends noticed the silence and urged them to reconcile.

Finally, one Saturday morning, Jenna showed up at Lisa’s door with a peace offering: a small box wrapped in pretty paper.

“Can we talk?” Jenna asked, holding out the box.

Lisa hesitated but then nodded. They went to the park and found a quiet bench to sit on.

“Look, I know I messed up,” Jenna began. “I’m really sorry about the dress. I never meant to hurt you.”

Lisa took a deep breath. “I know you didn’t. But it’s not just the dress. It’s the fact that you didn’t tell me right away. It felt like you didn’t respect my things or our friendship.”

Jenna nodded. “I get that. And you’re right. I should’ve been honest from the start.”

Lisa looked at the box Jenna had brought. “What’s this?”

Jenna smiled nervously. “Open it.”

Inside was a new red dress, similar to the one that was ruined. Lisa’s eyes softened. “You didn’t have to do this.”

“I wanted to,” Jenna said. “I know I can’t replace the old one, but I hope this shows how sorry I am.”

Lisa smiled, feeling the tightness in her chest ease. “Thanks, Jenna. I forgive you. But I need some time to fully trust you again.”

Jenna nodded. “I understand. I’m willing to earn your trust back, no matter how long it takes.”

From that day on, they started rebuilding their friendship. It wasn’t instantaneous, and the memory of the ruined dress lingered, but they both worked on communicating better and respecting each other’s boundaries.

Months later, as they were getting ready for another party, Lisa wore the new red dress Jenna had given her. “You know,” she said, looking at Jenna, “I’m glad we worked things out. I’ve missed having you as my best friend.”

Jenna smiled. “Me too. And I’ve learned a lot from this. I promise I’ll always be honest with you from now on.”

Lisa nodded. “We can always forgive, but we don’t have to forget. It’s what helps us grow.”

As they headed out for the evening, laughing and chatting like old times, Lisa realized that while the past couldn’t be erased, it had taught them valuable lessons about friendship and forgiveness. And that was something she would never forget.

humanityfriendship

About the Creator

ignatius awang braminia

a

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ignatius awang braminiaWritten by ignatius awang braminia

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.