Humans logo

@Vocal Challenges

Have a Designated Community Challenge Each Month

By Mariann CarrollPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
17
From Movie Time: What Woman Want: Mel Gibson Dressing Woman’s Stuff

What Vocal Creators Wants:

I have been reading a lot of Vocal Creators entry to the aspiration 2024 #200 Challenge on Vocal .

I notice most creators want to try their hand at creating a story for other communities on Vocal. Some just do not know how to go about it. Experience also plays a part in helping a writer write a story in a certain community.

I am asking @Vocal to create a challenge each month using a different community every month. This might help creators write a story for the community chosen for that month. Maybe a prompt might help along the way.

I used the scene from What A Woman Wants, a movie to give an understanding of how hard it can be to write a story on a community you have not tried to experience. Mel Gibson played Nick in the film. Nick was given products as his prompt for inspiration.

The video is from Movie Time on YouTube “What A Woman Want” Mel Gibson dressing women’s stuff.

My point is if given the right prompt it can help point creators in the right direction. It will give Vocal Creators more understanding of each community.

Creators can get out of their comfort zone. There are several communities I have not tried writing for yet. I hope to give it a go and write for them. I have not tried the 01, Men, Lifehack, Marriage or Proof Communities.

Believe it or not, the Humor Community has the lowest number of stories.

Men Community came second with 1,288 stories.

Critique Community came third with 1,591 stories.

I might be wrong, but fiction has over 88,000 stories.

My point is to spread love in the vocal communities and for Vocal Creators to enhance their writing experiences.

This is also an unofficial Challenge. The rule:

1. Write a Humorous Story and enter it in the Humor Community

2. Have fun writing it, fallow the community rules

3. Deadlines: February 14, 2024 @12 pm Easter time

4. Share your story to the Challenge in the comment section below

Prize 🏆 $5.00 to the winner

I know the prize is very low but, this is a fun community. I love humor. It helps cheer a person up when they are down.

I have several friends on Vocal who are supporting communities they have pride and passion for. They started their own Facebook group to get more stories submitted in their favorite Community.

Story written by: Oneg In The Arctic

Written by: J. Delaney-Howe

Vocal Horror Queen, Dharrsheena Raja Segarran, represents the Horror Community at its finest. She even has her own Facebook group.

Written By Mike Singleton-Mikeydred

My point is some communities on Vocal need promoting more than others. A better way of doing so is by having Challenges up for them with a prompt to help writers get out of their comfort zone like the Character in the movie “What A Woman Wants”.

I love Vocal and want to make it more Vocal Creators User Friendly.

I also would like a Spiritual or Faith Community on Vocal. I feel if there are rules in place people can be respectful like other communities.

Tiffany had written poem about it here✡️✝️☪️🕉️🕎☯️✝️💟☮️🛐

You can give it a month's trial. This is just my suggestion. I support all Creative Writing as long as it does not suggest harming or bullying others. We have warning content features which I feel is great.

Thank you @Vocal for taking the time to read my story about creating challenges that promote creating stories for the less-used community on Vocal. Do we have a Culture Community on Vocal, I guess people used the Wonder Community for that. 😍

Thanks for reading. Your feedback is important!!!

featurehumorhumanityadvice
17

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Wonderful advice!!! Loved it!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Here it is at last! My first ever submission to the Humour Community! https://vocal.media/humor/painting-pandemonium

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    I have asked for a mix-up of the challenge communities before. Yet they still focus more on the same ones. Maybe there is a reason for it, I am trying to read more in all the communities, I find a lot of AI generated content which is such a turn off. But we really need a mash-up of everything.

  • Deasun T. Smyth3 months ago

    Interesting, well done.

  • Very well written. A lot of great ideas

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Nice ideas for a lot of creators, I'm sure. Not for me though. There are some I have no interest in writing in. But good luck. Maybe Vocal will listen.

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 months ago

    Awesome suggestions! Your challenge sounds so fun! 😁Thanks for the mention and your support. Just a thought, comments could also be turned off in the Faith Community if things began to get too disrespectful as well!

  • Denise E Lindquist3 months ago

    Thank you, Mariann! Challenges from the different communities would be great! I haven't written for everyone either. Love the video! Lots of laughs!😂

  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    Interesting ideas Mariann. 😊 Also, I need a laugh too. 😁

  • For your challenge, must it be a new entry or can it be a story we have already published? Oh a one month trial for the Faith community seems like a good idea! If sex and politics have their own communities, why can't religion, right? Also, thank you so much for the shoutout, so sweet of you! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Great idea, Mariann. We'll have to see if I can find a sense of humor before I try entering your challenge, though.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    I like this idea and am glad you thought to write about it , here is mine for HUMOR https://vocal.media/humor/a-paleolithic-murder-mystery

  • Leslie Writes3 months ago

    Good idea. I’d like to broaden my horizons too. 🙂

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    A lovely idea Mariann 😁

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Well written and valid points!!!

  • Excellent thoughts…I agree wholeheartedly and am keen to try your challenge!🧐 A few months back Judey Kalchick’s “Ease Out 2023 With These Easy Prompts” was greatly inspirational to me! Due to her story, I dipped my toe into a few other Communities and styles. I have been meaning to get back to it & try some more.😉

  • Some good things here. I have written in every community, but some only one story. This will probably be a Top Story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.