Humans logo

Valuable Lessons from Rare Interview With 83 Yr Old Taiwo Ajai-Lycett

There's a lot to learn from Taiwo!

By Jide OkonjoPublished 5 months ago 5 min read

Beloved and talented actress Taiwo Ajai-Lycett is 83 years old still going strong, looking amazing, and full of energy. In a new and rare interview with The Sun, Taiwo opens up about how she keeps her energy up, gives advice and thoughts on food, exercise, love, marriage, and more. Here are some of the best pieces of wisdom Taiwo shared.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day.

ONE

Speaking on how she keeps her energy at 83 years old, Taiwo said:

TAIWO AJAI-LYCETT: Energy begets energy. If you give energy, you will get more energy back. We are made to move. If you are not moving, all your joints will seize up. The more you are moving, doing activities, not just the body, the mind as well, exceeding your mind, you are strengthening neurons and all of this keeps you alive and alert. You don’t want to be an Olympic champion and you are worried about getting up at 4 O’clock in the morning to go and do exercise. The body is tired, but one must never lose enthusiasm for life.

TWO

Speaking on food and advice on diet to keep being fit and energetic even at her age, Taiwo said:

TAIWO AJAI-LYCETT: Food is important. You are what you eat. I eat anything. You just eat in moderation. I eat chocolate, biscuits, I don’t drink, I don’t smoke. I eat everything. I eat swallow, everything. I love food. The best thing is to be on the move all the time. I exercise all the time. Before I step out off my bed every morning, I have probably done at least 30 minutes of exercise. You don’t have to go to the gym to be fit. During the day, I’m doing this and that. We age from the feet up. I make sure that my hip reflexes are pliable and my legs are strong. I still suffer from old age arthritis, but you would never know. Why? Because I don’t allow anything to settle on me. I do leg exercises in my bedroom, I keep circulation going; I do lower body, upper body exercises. But, above all, I make sure that I am exercising my legs because your calf is your second heart. If you can keep your heart going and you have good circulation in your body, your skin will look nice, you will be fit and that’s what produces energy. I do exercises where I’m standing, on my toes, I’m squatting. All these exercises, I do repetition of 100 at a time. I’m swimming up and down to make sure my spine is subtle.

THREE

Speaking on the value of exercise and keeping fit, Taiwo said:

TAIWO AJAI-LYCETT: The body knows what it wants. The body wants you to move it, otherwise, you stay frozen. That’s why you have hunchback, and carditure of the spine. I work my spine, I work my waist. So, I give my body the workout gentle for my age. Fitness is important. I don’t want to be a walking dead. I give the body the opportunity to do its work. Your digestive system will work properly and your joints will be sufficiently lubricated because you are doing exercises. Your body itself is an engine and it’s so contracted that it knows what to do. At this age, I don’t do too much so as not to injure myself. I just do within my limit. As I said, the most principal thing is to make sure your circulation is working properly and that’s your heart, pumping the blood up to the head and down to your toes. Above all, I drink a lot of water. After my exercises, I have a flask by my side. I drink hot water. My body is working properly and I drink a lot of water.

FOUR

Speaking on love and marriage, Taiwo said:

TAIWO AJAI-LYCETT: You have to support your husband properly. You are not subordinate to that man, but you are the pillar to your man and you have to be constantly stable. I am not saying that men are useless, but they don’t have the attributes that we have. So, women should not be wanting to be like men. Look around, most of the people keeping this society going are the little women selling pepper, onions, fish. They are keeping their families, but you, media, only go to interview the female minister or you are fixated on the wife of the governor. What does the wife of the governor do compared to the women who are in Mushin, Ajegunle, Oshodi, Aba market, everywhere in this country, working their skin off to make sure that their children are educated and are fed? We are not hailing those women and we are concentrating on the celebs, but the people who are actually building the country, suffering and bearing the brunt of the difficulty, insecurity, harsh economy, physical and all that are these women around us. They are our unsung heroes and we don’t see them as important.

FIVE

Giving advice to young ones in career, especially upcoming actresses, Taiwo said:

TAIWO AJAI-LYCETT: Don't believe your own hype. Don’t take yourself too seriously because there’s nothing about you personally, it’s about the message. All of us have a purpose of coming to this world. Find your purpose. When you are in show business, as a woman, you have to be a role model. You must know that people are looking at you and don’t think it’s about you. It’s about the impact you have to make in the lives of other people, not about yourself. With privilege comes responsibility. So, you have to deliver on that responsibility of privilege that people give you that they are looking at you, that they are fond of you. You have to watch yourself. Don’t think, I’m so wonderful. If they are fond of you then you have to deliver on that dedication they have for you. You have to respect them and don’t think you are queen bee. You have to live by example

What do you think about all Taiwo said, and what was your best piece of advice? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.