Humans logo

Why Ilebaye Won Over Me on BBNaija All Stars - Mercy Eke Reveals What She Found Out

Mercy talks Big Brother Naija

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
1

Nigerian reality television personality and successful media personality and business woman, Mercy Eke is opening up during a new interview about the real reason she later discovered on why she actually didn't win her second go around on wildly popular competition reality TV show, Big Brother Naija. Mercy who won her first stint on the fourth season of the show, returned for the All Stars edition of the show which held last year. Unfortunately for her, she ended placing second, losing the winning crown and title to Gen Z baddie, Ilebaye.

Now, during a new interview, Mercy Eke is opening up about why she believes this happened. Here is what Mercy had to say about it.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Mercy Eke during interview

Speaking about her Big Brother Naija experience and the real reason she found that she lost the second time, Mercy said:

MERCY EKE: My Big Brother Naija experience, oh my gosh. Well, the first time I went to the house and it was all cute, lovely people. I played the game and I won the show. And I thought okay, I thought it was all cute. Then I went back for the second time.

I found out that people are allergic to winners. Do you know what I mean? Allergic to winners! "She has that, she can't have it again", "she has this, she can't have it again", THAT'S why I did not win for the second time. Because they are allergic to winners. Because they feel like "you've got that, you shouldn't get it again", "oh she's already rich, why? Let others. Give others chance". Oh my god, this second experience. I loved it, I will not take anything away from it, because it made me just see people for who they truly are. You know when people are in a position to just show you who they really are, it can only be God's doing. Without this second experience, I would not know a lot of things. Like, I didn't know that it's a crime to want to win again. I didn't know that it's a crime. But anyway, I'm still a winner. Come on!

Thanks for diving into this story with me! Btw, every time you read, support, and share my work, it fuels my hunger to keep bringing you the latest news on your favorite Nigerian celebrities, movies, music and more. Your thoughts also matter to me, so please share them in the comments below, or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post. Let's keep the conversation going and I can't wait to see your thoughts on this.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Great work! Well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.