Humans logo

Tonight We're Gonna Party Like It's 1899

Krista's Wonderful "Alice In Wonderland" Themed Party At The Prohibition Bar

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
13
Barbie.Moi As Alice On Krista's Party Tabl

Introduction

I really am not sure how to present this. My wonderful friend Krista wanted to have a party to blow away the cobwebs of January and February, in the middle of March at the Prohibition Bar in Newcastle.

Krista is a designer but has many other artistic outlets including BarbieMoi on Instagram and being a singer and DJ as well, there is a performance in her Lady Koo incarnation in this piece:

The music I chose to accompany this is "White Rabbit" by Jefferson Airplane for obvious reasons, and it is in Tango Time.

My apologies for all the names I have forgotten, my memory is like a sieve.

Krista In Wonderland ... It's Party Time

When I got to the Prohibition Bar I wasn't too sure what was happening but assumed Krista's Party was going to be upstairs, and I was right. When I walked in I was greeted with the table of goodies that you saw in the main picture, with Barbie.Moi as Alice and lots of sweets and cake with lots of Lewis Carroll type things, like cards and flamingoes.

Chris and Krista

I didn't recognise Krista at first and thought I recognised Chris but wasn't sure, but they both looked amazing and posed for this picture and encouraged me to take many of them and of course, I obliged.

There were lots of great images such as this "What The Butler Saw" viewing device:

The great thing about this party is that was an opportunity to catch up with many friends who I had n0t seen for years, and though it was a quick visit it was wonderful to see them dressed to the nines for the Alice In Wonderland party.

Annabella & Krista

Lady Annabella and Krista, two wonderful Alices. I wrote a poem about Annabella which you can read here.

And Annabella just being Alice

Annabella
Friend and Lindsay

I also caught up with my friend Lindsay and her friend. She is a successful performing artist, and I really need to get myself over to a lot more of her events. Love her excellent hat and faux leopard skin coat, she just oozes style.

She inspired me to write this piece.

Now i have started to run out of names. If Krista lets me know I will update this piece, but these were all great and interesting conversationalists and they joined it with the true spirit of Krista's Lewis Carroll themed party (well The Alice part of Lewis Carroll and the only Jabberwock to be seen was me).

This lady shared tea with Krista and also allowed me to share a picture of the wonderful tattoo on her back. With her pink flamingo hat, I said she could go the a John Waters party, which she agreed with and laughed at.

Louise and Krista
Louise

Then there was this amazing costume which the lady designed herself, but I thought it reminded me of some of the Monty Python monsters.

Elaine and Friend

A hat with some bite. This won best costume of the night.

Prohibition Bar seemed rather a bit fuller as the night went on, all tables were taken but it wasn't too crowded. While I was there I was confused by the first music which was a set of Nirvana tunes set to nighttime infant music. I knew the tunes because if the gorm it was difficult for me to pinpoint.

St Dennis

Conclusion

This was a wonderful idea from Christa, fully enjoyable and helped reunite a lot of friends. I have hardly scratched the surface, but it was a great setting and filled with smiles.

Too many times we put things off but events like this make us realise how important our friends are to us.

The party was truly a lovely work of art by Krista.

Thank you for reading.

I missed the emd of the party because I had a very early start the following day, but Krista kindly sent me this wonderful wrap-up:

Thank you Mike! This is wonderful, thank you so much for coming along! Ps. Pink Flamingo lady is Louise, lady with a grin of Chester cat (she won my 'best dressed' of the night award is Elaine, man performing his original material by the keyboards is St.Dennis and later on we had a burlesque act by Trixie Blue and djing by me as DJ Lady Koo (instagram/Facebook: Lady Koo music)

First music played was indeed lullaby versions of Nirvana classics, followed by jazzy versions of David Bowie songs.

Between live performances our guests got to play 3 rounds of 'wonderland whispers ' around a big table with random obscure sentences chosen by my Chris(as Mad Hatter) from the book of Robin Hood (we lost our Alice in Wonderland book at the venue! Xxx

photographyvintagepop culturelovehumanityfriendshipcelebritiesart
13

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a month ago

    I'm glad you had this opportunity to get together & had such a good time. But I'm with Dharrsheena: where's your costume?

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    But Mike, there's no photo of your costume! Also, so happy to know you guys had fun!

  • Kelsey Clareyabout a month ago

    This seems like such a fun party!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Looks and sounds like a lot of fun.

  • Oh wow I would’ve killed to go to that party in a crazy wonderland costume, drink manhattans, and make new friends

  • Krista Puranen2 months ago

    Thank you for coming along and sharing this wonderful article! X 'Alice'

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    What a fun party story, thank you for sharing the wonderful pictures. It’s always nice catching up with friends at a party. Tiffany would have love the Barbie

  • I LOVE YOUR PARTY!

  • Heather Hubler2 months ago

    Oh, this looks like such a fun and lovely evening :) So glad you were able to go and enjoy time with friends (and food!).

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.