Humans logo

To my soul mate

I

By Martian Published about a year ago 3 min read
18
To my soul mate
Photo by Jose Chomali on Unsplash

As I sit here, looking back on the past three years of my life, and smile. I never would have thought that my best friend would become my lover. It all started in the fall of my sophomore year of college.

I remember the day clearly. It was a crisp autumn morning, and I was walking to my first class of the day. I had barely gotten halfway across campus when I saw her. She was sitting on a bench, staring intently at her phone, her blonde hair blowing gently in the breeze. She looked up and saw me, and we both smiled and waved.

"Hey, how's it going?" I asked as I sat down next to her.

"I'm good, thanks. How about you?" she replied, still focused on her phone.

"I'm alright, I guess. Just trying to get through this day," I said, rolling my eyes. "What are you up to?"

"Just checking some emails and stuff. You know, the usual," she said, finally putting her phone away.

We chatted for a few more minutes before parting ways to go to our respective classes. Little did I know that this would be the start of a beautiful relationship.

Over the next few months, we spent more and more time together. We would study together, go to parties together, and even take weekend trips together. We had so much in common, and we just clicked. It was like we had known each other forever.

As the end of the school year approached, I started to realize that I had feelings for her. I didn't want to ruin our friendship, so I tried to ignore them. But the more time we spent together, the more my feelings grew.

One night, we were sitting on my bed, watching a movie. I couldn't focus on the movie because I was so nervous. I knew I had to tell her how I felt.

"Hey, can I talk to you about something?" I asked nervously.

"Of course, what's up?" she replied, turning to face me.

I took a deep breath and just blurted it out. "I think I'm in love with you."

There was a moment of silence as she processed what I had just said. I was afraid I had ruined everything.

But then she smiled at me and said, "I think I'm in love with you too."

We kissed for the first time that night, and it was magical. From that moment on, we were inseparable.

Over the past three years, we have been through so much together. We have supported each other through tough times, celebrated each other's successes, and created so many amazing memories.

Looking back, I can't imagine my life without her. I'm so grateful that we took the risk of moving from best friends to lovers. It hasn't always been easy, but it has definitely been worth it.

As I sit here, holding her hand, I know that I am the luckiest person in the world. I have found my soulmate in my best friend.

To Readers

The moral of this story is that sometimes the best romantic relationships can come from unexpected places, such as friendships. It is important to cherish and nurture the connections we have with the people in our lives, whether they are platonic or romantic.

Love can be scary, but taking a risk and expressing your feelings can lead to beautiful things. It is also important to communicate openly and honestly with the people we care about. Without honest communication, misunderstandings and hurt feelings can arise.

friendshiplove
18

About the Creator

Martian

Fantasy - Writer

Secrets - Teller

Information - Provider

Sometimes - Teacher

Awareness - Maker

Come along with me as I investigate the limitless possibilities of Everything. Together, let's make something spectacular.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.