Humans logo

The Weirdest First Date Ever

KC Gardner – Confidential Investigator

By Linda Simpson Published 3 years ago 6 min read
5
A glass of merlot

“Thanks for that name Jake, that’s information I’d better take straight to the client. I’ll catch you back with the results. And, yeah, I’ll bring in the police from this end” KC hung up the phone before Jake had a chance to comment as she felt sure she needed to move fast with the information she’d just received.

Dialling her client she waited impatiently, “Come on Felicity, answer the darn phone.” “And No, I’m not leaving a message.”

Ending that call and with a rising sense of urgency, KC dug out the client file for the landline number and keyed that number in.

A deep male voice answered, “Kennedy residence”.

“This is KC, is Felicity home?”

“No, you missed her. She’s out on a dinner date.”

“Oh, I was worried about that, I’d better explain. Firstly, who am I talking to?”

“I’m Matt, her brother, just visiting for a few days, and you are?”

“I’m KC, I do confidential investigating for people and Felicity asked me to check up on Roger, a new man in her life. I’m assuming here that she’s out with Roger tonight?”

“Yeah”

“Well, I just received some disturbing news about this guy and it’s not good. Do you know here they went Matt?”

“I do, she’s meeting up with Roger at the restaurant in the hotel where he’s staying. That new one down near the wharf. Is there anything we can do?”

“YES, I know the one and I’ll head straight there, can you meet me there, wait for me in the foyer as this will end up being a police matter and Felicity might appreciate you being there.”

=========================

KC strode into the foyer, having rushed to make herself look more like a guest and less like an investigator. She didn’t want to spook this Roger guy.

Looking around she spotted two guys carrying a sense of urgency, one had the same build and same red hair as Felicity but the other was the opposite, tall dark haired and ready for anything.

“Matt?” she spoke out as she moved towards them, hand out in greeting.

“Yes, that’s me and this is Mike, a family friend.”

Turning to Mike to shake his hand as well, KC found herself staring up into the depths of a pair of brown eyes that almost drew her in, with her hand tingling from the connection.

Inwardly shaking herself free from the spell KC explained how she was expecting Devon, a police contact, to be here shortly as this guy, Roger, has a history and an outstanding warrant in his home State.

“He makes a practice of drawing his victim to his hotel and using Rohypnol to disable and secure them.” She explained “Oh great, here’s Devon now.”

After introducing everyone, Devon and KC decided that the smoothest way to intercept and move Felicity would be to pretend to be diners and to come across Felicity as a friend. This would then enable KC to gently remove Felicity while Devon made his arrest.

Keeping the hotel security staff in the loop, they then linked arms as a couple and strolled into the restaurant.

=========================

At the table, feeling more and more tense as Roger droned on about his work, the quality of the wine and had she tried some yet, Felicity was looking for ways to bring this evening to an end when she looked up and saw KC coming towards her with a friend.

Inwardly puzzled, she smiled a hello and stood up to greet KC with a hug. She heard the whispered, “Grab your things, we need to get you out of here” and realized that her intuition had been right.

As they moved away from the table towards the foyer she heard Devon say, “Neville Roger Hicks, you’re under arrest.”

=========================

“Matt, how come you’re here? And Mike! What’s happening?” Felicity exclaimed. “how did all of this come about?”

Behind them a very disgruntled and hand cuffed Roger was taken out to the police vehicle by Devon, ably backed by the hotel staff.

KC explained, “After you hired I placed a call out to a friend who confirmed some pretty vicious stuff about this Roger. Seems his real name is Neville Hicks by the way. He’s wanted for crimes against other females, and it looks like we’ve helped track him as he’s stayed under the radar for a while now.”

“And KC called the house when she couldn’t get you on your cell phone, so we came to make sure you were OK.” Matt continued the story while giving his sister a big hug. “And now that you are, shall we take you home?”

“Good plan” KC confirmed “You and I can catch up tomorrow once I’ve had an update from Devon. who you didn’t get to meet tonight but who did an amazing job.”

“You did some smooth work here tonight as well, KC”, Mike added, “Matt, how about you take Flick home and I’ll follow up in her car.”

=========================

Keys were exchanged and goodbyes said, leaving Mike and KC alone in the foyer.

“If you’re not in a big hurry to end the evening, can I buy you a glass of champagne to celebrate?”, asked Mike, hopefully.

“No thanks, Mike”, answered KC and then, at the sight of his sad eyes she smiled and said, “I’m just not a bubbles girl, but if you’re up to buying me a glass of merlot then you’re on!”

“A Glass of Merlot it is, then” confirmed Mike.

=========================

“Sorry folks, but the bar is about to close. Can I bring you a last drink?” the bar tender politely interrupted KC and Mike, who looked up in surprise.

“Wow and no thanks. I’ve got to work tomorrow.” KC said, suddenly realising the time.

After the bar tender had gone she said, “I can’t believe we’ve been talking all this time. It’s been really lovely, Mike.”

“Yeah, it has and, yes, we’d better get out of here so they can close up”, Mike confirmed. “I’ll walk you out to your car.”

“Oh that’s not far, I parked it in that guest spot out the front. I was just so focussed on getting to Felicity.”

As they stood by KC’s car Mike leant down and placed a soft kiss on her cheek. “I’m looking forward to our second date, where would you like to go?"

KC held her hand over the area Mike has just kissed and, a little dazed by how quickly they had connected, she said, “What do you mean, second date?”

“Well, let’s see. Point One, we met at a hotel. Point two, we shared a drink and, point three, we ate food, ok it was bar snacks but that’s still food. Point four, we talked heaps and found out about each other, and now I’ve seen you back to your car. I’m an optimist so I’d call this a first date.”

Laughing now, KC leant into him for a hug and said, “I love your outlook and, YES, I’d love to go out with you on this magic second date.”

Looking up into those gorgeous brown eyes she stood up on her toes and kissed him before he had a chance to react. Sliding her business card into his hand she said, “Call me, for sure”.

Then hopping into her car she sent him her biggest smile as she drove away.

dating
5

About the Creator

Linda Simpson

Storyteller, Urban Farmer, Love Bubble Distributor

I enjoy my life to the full, whether working in Our Small Urban Farm or uplifting and enabling beautiful beings in their spirituality, their journey. Love is my Magic and my Alchemy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.