Humans logo

THE UNINVITED FLY

When Thursday Feels Like A Monday

By Babs IversonPublished 2 years ago Updated 11 months ago 4 min read
14
Pixabay.com picture

Walking up to the Supercut's door on Thursday morning, there was a new sign posted which shocked and surprised me.

Pulling on the door handle, my exact words were, "Oh, crap!"

How could this be that Supercut was closed on THURSDAY?

We had a lot on our to-do list. My hair needed to be cut. In fact, it should have been cut weeks ago. Now, it was way past due! As a regular customer of this location, they chose to close on Thursdays without consulting with me. Really! Well, they could have sent an email. As a matter of fact, their computer's database most likely has my contact information along with information regarding when my last haircut was achieved.

Having things to do, we went on to the next item on the list. At the strip mall, my friend had to have his glasses adjusted. It was on the to-do list. However, getting my hair cut, was a priority too. Since there was a beauty salon close by, entered and inquired about the cost of a haircut.

The beautician wearing the black face mask made a muffled utterance. Asking the question again, she pulled forward her mask and replied, "It's forty-two dollars."

Understandably, shocked and dismayed! "No, thank you!" spilled out of my mouth as my feet headed towards the exit door.

Our next stop was the post office. With a purchase that was being returned, there wasn't a long line and things went as planned.

Because one of the laptop computers would not start up this Thursday morning, we had to make an unscheduled and unplanned stop at a computer repair shop. Inside the computer shop, low and behold, the computer immediately lit up and was working after all.

Is this really Thursday? It feels like a BLUE Monday to me!

Traveling on to a planned stop, the Natural Grocer carries and stocks the Siete brand chips and tortillas. Aghast! The Cassava Flour and Chia Seed tortillas weren't there. Settling on the plain cassava flour tortillas, we picked up a can of coconut milk and headed to the register. With a slight problem at the register, we left.

Since we would be headed West, tried to get the location of the Supercut on West University Drive using the cellphone. Oh, No! The cellphone wouldn't work. My frustration level was up to a five on a count of ten.

By Mack Duncan on Unsplash

In front of the Winco store, one of the town's firetrucks was parked which caused some traffic flow issues. After a few seconds, the van was parked. As we walked to the storefront, the firemen were headed to the truck with their food supplies. Amazingly, the firemen are always making food runs on the days we visit this grocery store.

Walking towards the fresh produce, berries were on the grocery list. Oh, no, here we go again! No, strawberries! Oh, well! Thankful for the blueberries and blackberries that they did have. We went about selecting the items that were needed for the next week or two. Shopping done and groceries stowed in the van, it was time to go HOME.

By Georgia de Lotz on Unsplash

At this point, anything and everything that was on the to-do list could wait. Was more than ready to return home where my cellphone was waiting as it had been left behind. I was thankful that we had one cellphone with us. Even if it wasn't providing the location information that was needed earlier, it could always be used in case of an emergency.

As we were putting away the groceries, a fly started buzzing me. "Oh, crap!" I yelled, "Who invited this fly?"

After stowing the groceries, checked my cellphone. My first notification, it's Cathy Holmes.

Cathy's message, "Good morning, New prompt is "crap" Yes, I'm nuts. What have ya got? lol"

My message back, "It's been a crappy morning. Supercuts location closest to my house wasn't open this morning. Everything has turned to crap!!!"

Of course, it's after 12 noon. My plan was to post the Thursday "Whose "Link" Is It, Anyway? at noon, but life happens. Managing to post the game, however, was upset that a comment that had been copied earlier couldn't be retrieved on my computer.

It's Thursday, but it sure feels like a BLUE Monday to me!

I found Keto ice cream treats at Winco. Definitely, enjoyed my snack and chilled for the rest of the day.

Googled - crap definition "From Dictionary Definitions from Oxford Languages Vulgar Slang noun 1. something of extremely poor quality, nonsense, rubbish, junk 2. excrement. verb 1. defecate 2. British talk at length in a foolish or boring way.

Epilogue: Friday morning the uninvited fly is dead. Yep! Got him right away with my flyswatter!

"Oh crap, another uninvited fly is buzzing me!"

Writer's Notes: Thank you for reading! Hopefully, you had a laugh or two.

humor
14

About the Creator

Babs Iverson

Barbara J Iversen, also known as Babs Iverson, lives in Texas and loves her grandkids to the moon and back. After writing one story, she found that writing has many benefits especially during a pandemic and a Texas-size Arctic Blast.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 2 years ago

    Boy, what a day. I've had days like that where I just want to punch a hole in the wall. Good story I enjoyed reading it.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    this was funny. I enjoyed the reread. well done

  • Aw really sorry, love d and laughed at this but already read

  • Loved your story! Too funny!

  • I get that feeling where we question ourself again and again if it really isn't Monday 💖

  • SJ Covey2 years ago

    Great story and I managed to add comMents eventually

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.