Humans logo

The Timing of Forever Feelings (About Time)

A Tale of Missed Moments

By MorganPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
The Timing of Forever Feelings (About Time)
Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

As I waited nervously for you to arrive at the movie theater, my heart raced with anticipation. It was our first time together at the movies, and I couldn't help but hope that you would reach out and take my hand. The movie we had chosen to watch was "About Time", a story about how timing is everything and how the right moment can change everything. Little did I know, timing would play a huge role in our story too.

Throughout the movie, I found myself glancing over at you, hoping for a sign, a signal that you felt the same way I did. I left my hand there, waiting for you to take it, but you never did. Perhaps you were too captivated by the film, or maybe you were still holding on to past hurt from when I chose someone else over you. Whatever the reason, I couldn't help but feel a sense of disappointment.

Despite that setback, we continued to spend time together, but our lives were pulling us in different directions. When you told me that you were moving to Germany and asked me to come with you, my heart skipped a beat. It was unexpected, and part of me wanted to say yes, but the timing wasn't right. I had just started my own business and had too many responsibilities to just pick up and move. I promised to think about it, but I never followed through, and you never asked again.

As you moved away, we slowly lost touch. We were once the closest of friends, talking every day, but now we had nothing but your Facebook profile to keep us connected. You had moved on with your life, and so had I. We both found new partners, but deep down, I still felt that unspoken connection between us.

Years passed, and we stayed in touch sporadically, catching up on each other's lives every now and then. Then, out of nowhere, you announced that you were getting married and moving to Switzerland with your new partner. I was happy for you, but I couldn't shake off the feeling that something was ending.

As time went by, we drifted further apart, only speaking occasionally. However, when you told me about your impending divorce and custody battle, I knew I had to be there for you. We started talking more, and I felt that old connection between us growing stronger once again.

But then, I made a mistake. I told you I was separated from my partner, even though we had reconciled. When I told you I was separated, I was planning to, I was actually moving out. But then we fixed things, and I was too much of a coward to tell you, I was too afraid to lose you, to let the timing get in the way of our friendship. You started talking to me more and more, and I was overjoyed to have you back in my life.

But the timing was still off. When you told me you were coming to visit, I didn't know how to explain it to my partner. And even worse, you still thought I was single. I felt like I was trapped in a never-ending cycle of bad timing and missed opportunities.

In the end, I realized that timing can never be perfect, and sometimes we just have to let go of what could have been. You will always be special to me, but our friendship was not meant to be anything more. Maybe in another life, we will get our chance, but for now, I will treasure the memories we made together and the love we shared as friends.

love
1

About the Creator

Morgan

Hi, I'm Morgan, a writer by heart with a passion for crafting innovative stories. Follow me for updates on my latest projects and achievements!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.