Humans logo

"The Therapy"

"From Darkness to Light"

By Isra SaleemPublished 24 days ago 3 min read
1
"The Therapy"
Photo by Tim Chow on Unsplash

I sat nervously in the waiting room, flipping through a worn copy of People magazine. I had been dreading this moment for weeks, but I knew I needed help. My anxiety had been spiraling out of control, and I couldn't shake the feeling of impending doom that followed me everywhere.

Finally, the door opened, and a kind-faced woman with a warm smile beckoned me in. "Hello, I'm Dr. Thompson. It's nice to meet you."

I stood up, smoothing out my dress, and followed her into the cozy office. The walls were painted a soothing blue, and the scent of lavender wafted through the air.

Dr. Thompson gestured for me to take a seat on the couch, and I settled in, trying to get comfortable. She sat down in a chair across from me, a notepad and pen in hand.

"So, what brings you here today?" she asked, her voice gentle and non-judgmental.

I took a deep breath and launched into my story, telling her about my anxiety, my fears, my feelings of inadequacy. She listened attentively, nodding along, her expression empathetic.

As I spoke, I felt a weight lifting off my shoulders. For the first time in months, I felt like I was unburdening myself, like I was sharing my secrets with someone who truly understood.

Dr. Thompson asked me questions, probing gently into my past, my relationships, my thoughts and feelings. I felt like I was under a microscope, but in a good way – like she was examining me, trying to understand me, rather than judging me.

After what felt like hours, she leaned back in her chair and smiled. "You know, you're not alone in this. Anxiety is a common struggle, and it's nothing to be ashamed of."

I felt a lump form in my throat. No one had ever said that to me before. No one had ever made me feel like I was okay, like I was normal.

Over the next few weeks, I returned to Dr. Thompson's office again and again. We worked through my fears, my insecurities, my negative thought patterns. She taught me techniques to manage my anxiety – deep breathing, mindfulness, positive self-talk.

It wasn't easy. There were times when I felt like giving up, like I was too broken to be fixed. But Dr. Thompson was always there, encouraging me, supporting me, believing in me.

And slowly but surely, I started to feel like myself again. The anxiety was still there, but it was no longer suffocating me. I could breathe again, I could think again, I could live again.

I realized that therapy wasn't a sign of weakness, but a sign of strength. It took courage to face my fears, to confront my demons, to ask for help. And Dr. Thompson had been there every step of the way, guiding me, supporting me, cheering me on.

As I left her office for the last time, I felt a sense of gratitude, of appreciation, of love. I knew that I would always carry the lessons I had learned with me, that I would always be grateful for the time I had spent in therapy.

And as I walked out into the bright sunlight, I felt a sense of hope, of possibility, of promise. I knew that I could face whatever challenges came my way, that I could overcome anything, as long as I had the tools, the support, and the courage to do so.

I knew that I would always carry the scars of my anxiety with me, but I also knew that I was no longer defined by it. I was stronger, braver, and more resilient than I had ever thought possible. And for that, I was eternally grateful.

Stream of Consciousnessinterview
1

About the Creator

Isra Saleem

Versatile writer skilled in both tale & stories. Captivate readers with engaging content & immersive narratives. Passionate about informing, inspiring, & entertaining through words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran24 days ago

    Hey, just wanna let you know that this is more suitable to be posted in the Psyche community 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.