Humans logo

"The Surprising Culture of Public Transportation in the UK"

A Fresh Perspective

By Ammu Published about a year ago 3 min read
A visual comparison of UK and Sri Lankan Buses

On my first bus experience in the UK, I noticed a difference in the ticketing process compared to my hometown. Instead of a ticket seller, they used a plastic card called an "Oyster card" in London. All I had to do was recharge the card, touch it to a device near the driver, and I could get into the bus. Since the crowd wasn't too large, I didn't have any trouble. I was pleasantly surprised by the custom of giving priority to the elderly and disabled when get into the bus, which was different from what I was used to.

After boarding, I looked around the bus to see where I could be. Some people were listening to songs on headphones, some were reading books, and a few old men were reading the free newspaper distributed on the bus. In between, only a few were talking on the phone loudly. That was very less.

I laughed inside my heart. Why, I just recalled the daily bus journey in my town. Whether I like it or not, some random song is playing loudly. It keeps running until the driver stops. Whether there is space or not, the passengers continue to board until they take a breath and get off. I have never seen any special facilities for the elderly, pregnant women, disabled people. But here there were rules and facilities to ensure that there should not be any hindrance to individual freedom. If public transport has so many facilities and priorities for a bus, I was surprised how much freedom a person can live his preferred lifestyle in this country from birth to death.

Perhaps because our country was like this or if the British had brought this custom, there would have been no need for many Sri Lankans like me to migrate here. However, this realization also made me frown at the influx of these customs.

Upon entering the bus, it is customary for a free newspaper to be provided for passengers to stay informed about current events in the country. An elderly man picked up the paper, read it, and left it on the seat before departing the bus. As the wind caused the paper to tumble to the ground, I couldn't help but feel uneasy. It would only take a moment to pick it up and dispose of it properly. If the paper had been purchased, the old man would have likely taken more care not to leave it behind.I wondered if anyone would take the newspaper and give it the respect it deserved. In the end, t the end I got up and went out and took it and left it in the right place.

I have continued to observe this behaviour of people leaving newspapers on the bus, tube stations, and streets even to this day. It leaves me wondering whether it is because the papers are provided for free or if people are unaware of the value they hold. In my home country, we have to purchase such items with our own money. I have even witnessed children who are unable to obtain such items, despite their yearning for them. If everyone had access to a country that provides such amenities, they would benefit greatly from the things that are given for free.

It is often the case that even in a place with many positive attributes, there may be some flaws. As members of a society, it is our greatest responsibility to identify the good aspects and work to improve upon any shortcomings. By recognizing the potential for improvement and striving to enhance it, we can create a more positive and beneficial environment for everyone.

Written By : Ammu

reviewtravelhumanityhow toadvice

About the Creator

Ammu

I am compelled to write the things that I write, out of the passion that blooms within me ..

Story Writer - Ammu

Pls do support அம்மு ❤️

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Very informative... Good job!!!

  • Jesu_kjabout a year ago

    👍❤️...

  • Nivinkalai about a year ago

    Writter ✌️

  • Kingmaker.4uabout a year ago

    Good job 👏 👍 அம்மு

  • Raasu Kutty about a year ago

    👍

Ammu Written by Ammu

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.