Humans logo

The Reason Why You Should Always Leave Saying "I Love You."

Never forget it, don't ever regret it

By Shay GrossPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Reason Why You Should Always Leave Saying "I Love You."
Photo by Brittney Burnett on Unsplash

A simple "I love you" can go a long way. You have absolutely no idea what kind of day a person just went through or the mental struggles that they deal with. And you never know when you might see someone for the last time.

When I was little I watched Tarzan without my parents knowing. My Mom didn't want me to watch it because Tarzan's parents die, and I was really young. This movie stuck with me after watching a young boy lose his parents, and realizing that this was a worry, and that my parents wont be around forever... Ever since then it has always been in the back of my mind that there will come a day that I wont have my parents with me forever. That I wont have anyone in my life forever. It also made me think "would I be satisfied with the last conversation I had with this person if this were the last time I'd ever see them?" "Would I hold onto some guilt if it were?" There are so many freak accidents that happen in life that we can't control - things that we don't even see coming.

Think about the last conversation that you had with someone... would you be satisfied? Did you make sure they knew how important they were? Is there anything you would want them to know? Did you leave on bad terms? Personally I would want them to know how much I loved them and how important they were to me. I try to leave with "I love you." and I could never leave an argument unresolved, because I have no idea what could happen the next day or even the next hour.

I used to be really petty when it came to arguments, and I if I was mad I wasn't letting it go anytime soon. I came to learn that I don't need to leave an argument on bad terms. I don't need to let my ego get in the way of making things right before we part ways, because my ego will never be more important than the relationship that I have with the people I choose to have in my life. I try to think about how I would feel, or what my thoughts would be like if I never go to say goodbye to someone close to me... If maybe that person would wonder if I cared, honeslty I would question if they knew that I cared... I believe that we take our friendships, and relationships with people for granted far too often, and forget that everything in life is temporary. When you form a connection with someone, you should make them feel important to you, and remind them constantly. I know quite a few people that hate goodbyes, and they hate them so much that when it comes time to part ways, they not only leave without saying goodbye, but they leave without saying anything at all. I think that every goodbye should be like its the last. Tell that person that you love them, give them the biggest hug like you wont ever give them another - the truth is, you don't know if you ever will. Think about every goodbye like its the last one you'll ever have, remind them how important they are and that you love them. Love goes a long way, it cant ever be overused... I don't see it being used enough as it should. Don't regret not telling someone that you love them or giving them a hug. There isnt anyone who will regret saying I love you just to see them again. Its always better to be safe, than sorry.

friendshiploveadvice
Like

About the Creator

Shay Gross

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.