Humans logo

The Happiness of Virtual World (Part-3)

The 3rd section in an in-depth examination of how social media influences our lives and adds to our happiness.

By Ali AkbarPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
photo by Creative Christians from unsplash

And I think that's something very troubling because in a way it leads to being loved for a certain image rather than simply for what you its too cold if you want to shine among billions of accounts

It’s not enough just to show your face you also have to invent a story for your character a lifestyle Marie spends one day a week bringing her digital twin to life we'll take a street where we can see the Eiffel tower from the side

I’ve already taken a few photos okay it's true that we're staging everything let's say you have a beautiful door we will be jumping like maniacs in front of that door whereas in real life

We just walk right past it that could be a nice background this yes nice people see that you're in a nice the neighborhood of happiness is a successful life with friends a good job a nice family a sharp mind and a healthy body that's happiness on display sadly

And this happiness this successful life this completely fake life I can just create today and show it off to others without really having any of it

I can create a totally imagined existence for myself without anyone coming to verify the truth of what I’m saying and that way we can get into something that can become a bit dangerous

Out of 200 photos Marie selects only one it's a cliché picture Marie has become dependent on this made-up life she pretends to have I’m not used to showing up without makeup

I don't particularly like it today I am really exposing myself I feel very vulnerable because this is the real me there are no tricks and no glamour I’m afraid of being judged and when the mass comes off the weaknesses shine through

I want people to like me because they didn't necessarily like me before clearly that factors in how so excuse me

I’m sorry it's really hard because you want to be nice and have friends it sounds so silly but when you're younger and you don't have any friends its super hard of course

I want people to like me on social media I mean what I’m really looking for is validation digital happiness is an invention the idea behind it is basically that miserable people are offered the space in which they can be happy a space where

They can develop and have simple relationships that lift them up therefore you could say that the unhappy someone is in their real life the more likely they are to look for happiness on social networks but of course digital happiness doesn't necessarily translate into real-life happiness

addiction center hello how old is he even if the consumption pattern has changed we can reopen the file and start a follow-up program okay for almost 20 years this center has been answering dozens of calls for help

Every day people suffering from addiction to tobacco alcohol or drugs in recent months the medical team has had to adapt to newcomers

Who are addicted to social media like alexander hey can you come with me yes on average?

My screen time is between 8 and 11 hours a day sometimes even 12. But that's pretty rare on all screens

It’s too much information to be on the phone all day I watch over 100 videos a day read articles and send messages

It’s true that when you put the phone down you keep thinking about it and you never really turn it off even when you don't have the phone you think about the things you've watched the same goes for the night

When you're trying to sleep I would say it consumes all of my daily life without a doubt so you always have the phone with you always there is something like a compulsive obsessive side that takes over the person's life

The person might not notice it because it's progressive and it comes on very slowly so be careful spending too much time on social media can make you unhappy

Social media is about images and stimulation you associate this stimulation or behavior with pleasant feelings that's conditioning just like drugs and other addictions you want to repeat

That behavior addiction to social media can also affect our ability to make free choices it's a creeping addiction that can be difficult to cure.

To Be Continued....

friendshipsocial mediasingle
Like

About the Creator

Ali Akbar

Researcher & Analyst and Content Creator at Self-Employment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.