Humans logo

The Connection

just when I needed it most

By Gail S.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
The Connection
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Words could never express the gratitude I feel tonight. While I was sitting before you falling apart as gracefully as I could, you sat patiently and listened. When I needed nothing but silence you didn’t speak. When I reached for a hand I found yours. When I couldn’t find my strength, you gave me yours. You were the rock I leaned on when I felt like I would collapse. When the moment was right...you made me smile and laugh. You stepped up when I needed it most. Let me unleash without judgment and held me when I was done.

Saying I need you in my life always is an understatement. You have seen the best and the worst and never once backed away. Seen me at my lowest and brought me to my highest. Witnessed my serious side and saw my oh so silly. Watched me cry and made me laugh. The one constant in my life. Watched my emotional roller coaster and rode it with me at times. Let me be myself and was happy doing so. You never once gave up on me, even when I was giving up on myself. You make a difference in my life.

It hasn’t always been easy, I know this, but I am working on being in a better place. I am grateful for you and what you bring to my life. Everyday I try to make you proud of the person I am striving to be. I hope that when you think of me it makes you smile. I hope you always remember the good about us and that you don’t dwell on the bad. I wish you the happiest of times and the best of things in this world. Without you there would be no me. My heart will forever hold a place reserved just for you.

Life holds no promises and tomorrow is so uncertain but the one thing that will never change is the way you have brought happiness to my life since day one. You always seem to know when I am most vulnerable and that’s when I need you most. I feel you around me always, feel your presence even when I can’t physically see it. Feel your hand reaching for me and telling me to be strong. Even in the silence of the night, I need only to close my eyes and I see you by my side. Spending time with you is so good for my heart.

No one will truly ever understand the connection we have. How it goes beyond what everyone else believes. I don’t need anyone else to understand it for it is ours and ours alone. There is nothing I would change about us. We feed each other's heart and soul and that’s what matters. When I cry I can feel your tears and when I laugh I can hear your silly laugh. Last night wasn’t perfect but it was meant to happen just the way it did. It was beautiful to have that connection when I needed it most.

Thank You, even if you don’t read this, I need to say how much I am thankful for you helping me see what needs to be done. Helping me through not only the bad times but the great times too. I love sharing my thoughts and dreams with you, knowing you are striving to help me be the best I can be. You fill me up and lift me up and I am so glad you are there to witness all my successes and help me through my failures too. Looking forward to the future with you by my side. 143!

Love Always, Me

friendship

About the Creator

Gail S.

I am complicated, confusing and misunderstood but I am real. Life is too short to be anything but happy.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Gail S.Written by Gail S.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.