Humans logo

My #1 Fan

thank you is not enough

By Gail S.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
4
My #1 Fan
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

My #1 fan is my best critic. He tells me exactly how he feels about every story I write. He is honest yet kind. He gives his opinion and never has to worry about hurting my feelings because he is also my best friend and confidant. He keeps it real and tells it like it is. He never has to worry if he doesn’t like one of my stories, I will always understand. His opinions only make me a better writer. He gives me more moral support than I think I deserve. When I feel too down to write, he lifts me up and gives me reason to continue. He is the basis for more than one of my stories and he knows it. He gives me purpose and a reason to write. Some of my best ideas are because of him. He gives me such a passion to write and sometimes i think saying “Thank you” is just not enough. My gratitude goes beyond words.

You my friend bring out the best in me. Make me feel like there’s nothing I can’t do. Lift my spirits and make me soar like an eagle. You make my heart sing with joy and you will never know how much I appreciate you and your kind words. You make me better with every story I write. You are the reason I have published 38 stories (poems) in the last 4 months. You encourage me to be the best I can be. You get me, know where I am coming from and understand every story. Your unclouded judgement makes you the perfect fan. I love your honesty and your ability to express how they make you feel. Your daily encouragement brightens each day and gives me strength to put more words down on paper. My only wish is that my words continue to touch you the way they do.

Some days are tougher than others and these are the days you encourage me to write more. If not for that I may have already stopped writing. You really don’t see what a difference you make. How your enthusiasm for the next story gets me so charged up. How excited I get to write something that will “WOW” you. Something that will touch you deep down into your soul, that shakes you to the core. How humble you make me feel when you comment on a story, and sometimes how embarrassed I get when you think it was fantastic and I think it was so-so. I will never let you see the part of me that before I hit submit, wonders if you will like it or not. That nervous feeling of disappointing you or letting you down. Sometimes it is difficult to express all these thoughts to you and thank you just doesn’t cut it for me. Just know that I am grateful. For all you do and all you are. For talking sense into me when I clearly want to quit. For neither accepting or allowing me to quit. Simply for being there with every turned page.

Every word, every phrase, every completed story I do for me but you are there on every page with me. Maybe hidden in the shadows but there nonetheless. From the bottom of my heart I thank you. For taking this ride with me and not jumping off when it got bumpy. For seeing and helping me through every page and chapter. For believing in me even when I doubted myself. For loving me and my creations the way you do. I Will forever be grateful that you are my #1 fan.

With so much love, G.

humanity
4

About the Creator

Gail S.

I am complicated, confusing and misunderstood but I am real. Life is too short to be anything but happy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.