Humans logo

The 5 Step Mental Method

The 5 Step Mental Method

By SonaliaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

If I ask you what foods make you crazy, they probably won’t be very healthy. I bet it would be ice cream, chips, pizza or something like that. In fact, you may be thinking of unhealthy foods in your mind as you read. Good isn’t it? Stop and think about it for a moment………… The point I am making in this article is that by changing the way you think, you can change what you want.

Every new client that comes into my weight loss office has a “craving problem”. But I don’t see it as a problem at all. I see it as a solution. The craving is overwhelming. They are a tyrant and we must not allow ourselves to be controlled by them. We shouldn’t be surprised by 20 ounces of prime rib, cookies, or ice cream. Instead, we can be tempted by watermelons, pineapples, oranges or apples; Such food. Think it’s crazy? Well, it’s not, and you’ll see why.

When I first sit down and talk with a client about their eating habits, I gather everything I need to know about what they eat and how they eat. The culprit for your weight problem is always dieting, snacking, unhealthy eating or simply overeating. Then I ask them what fruits and vegetables they like. I have yet to meet someone who hates fruit or every vegetable under the sun. Finally, I ask them how often they eat fruit or vegetables, and often it’s less than healthy.

After I gather my arsenal, let’s do our thing. I put my clients back in my salon and closed my eyes. I direct their mind to a quiet place, and in a few minutes they will be more relaxed than ever. Then I start talking about his favorite fruits and vegetables. I ask them to imagine eating their favorite juicy, ripe fruit and feel the juice tickling their taste buds. Let me tell your mind: “From now on, when you have a craving for food, you will think of juicy, ripe fruits. And BINGO!!! Next thing you know, these are exactly the foods they like. Why? Because every time you close your eyes and take yourself to a calm and peaceful place, your subconscious mind emerges and it is this part of the mind that controls what you want. Change your thoughts and what you want will change. simple.

Let’s look at this from another perspective. Let’s say pineapple is your favorite fruit. Now, if you sit with me now and I give you a juicy piece, you will enjoy it thoroughly. Do you want more? of course. Now I reach into my fridge and pull out a piece of chocolate cake and say “pick one”. You probably went for the pineapple because you had a teaser piece that left your mind wanting more. The point is this: enjoy your favorite fruit as much as you enjoy your favorite junk food, and you might think otherwise.

Once again, desires are overrated. The mere mention of that devilish word always seems to conjure up images of high-calorie, high-fat foods, because these are the foods you’re most exposed to in our media-driven world. Your subconscious is used to this and doesn’t know any better. Change the images in your mind and you will change your desires. Here’s a 5-minute mental exercise you can start right now to change the way you crave food.

Step 1 — Find a comfortable, quiet place with no distractions. Start breathing deeply until you feel slightly relaxed. Then slowly count backwards from 10 to 1. With each calculation, think your mind deeper and deeper.

Step 2: After you’re done counting, imagine you’re relaxing in your favorite spot. A secluded beach or log in the woods will do. Imagine yourself very relaxed and at peace.

Step 3: Next, imagine a basket full of your favorite fresh fruits next to you. See the color, the feeling, everything clearly in your mind about that fruit. Imagine taking a bite of that juicy fruit and enjoying it like never before.

Step 4: Repeat the following suggestion to yourself 10 times: “From now on, whenever I think about eating, I will immediately crave fruit.”

Step 5: Count from 1 to 5, slowly, and when you get to 5, open your eyes.

Bonus Juice dissolves 62 LBS Of shocking Fat and Free e book bundle

humanityfamily
Like

About the Creator

Sonalia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.